A Shruging Kind Of Day I Guess in meh...

  • Feb. 1, 2017, 10:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I rarely complain about work anymore.
I’ve come a long way. The only thing I dislike is the office politics that are played and the fact that it’s a nonprofit organization. We are prone to budget crises and not get raises, take pay cuts, stuff like that.

Since my transition to what is basically customer service, I’ve not had many things that warrant issue. I accept all that is brought to me. I offer myself to do things to better help my team, especially since I’m not near anyone in my department. Everyone else is stationed in the visitor center while I maintain my cushy office job. When it’s busy, I’m busy. Whether it’s answering phones, helping with free ticket orders, things like that. I have a job.

One of my newer duties is that I fulfill gift card requests that people order online via our website. At the end or beginning of each month we have to do card inventory. The finance office has this spreadsheet they send and we record the number of cards we have (or have left) to keep up on inventory. Okay. So the first time I had to do this, the spreadsheet was calculating wrong. So what I did was just put the numbers down and my totals and left it at that. This time around, I decided to put the numbers onto the given spreadsheet. Instructions were to override and manually input the totals. Which I did. At some point between finishing and sending the spreadsheet, it “corrected” itself and put all the card numbers with a zero at the end. (Sidebar: it’s a stupid process and goes to show that computers don’t always make automation easy.) So I get an email back asking that “in future” would I put in the whole number. So because I’m an e-thug I answered back that I did and perhaps the system “corrected” itself because I did what I was requested. Then I developed an attitude. I hate when people have this perception that the other person just didn’t do it right. I prefer that if you have a question about something I’ve done, you ask me what I’ve done and how I did it so you can get a sense of what happened and THEN correct me. Do not correct me when I’ve done what I was asked. I have more issues with people because of this. They come to me accusingly and just KNOWING that I messed up. Don’t come at me like that.

Well, I then just emailed her the information she needed in my own damn form and asked if she’d like me to do this from now on since her spreadsheet was effed up anyway. Not quite like that, but in a nice way. LOL She said sure. Case closed.

I went to the movies by myself like a big girl. I had a light dinner and some nachos with extra jalapenos at the movies. I had a $15 gift card and had recently paid on my credit card. I figured what the hell. I went to see Hidden Figures. It was indeed an enjoyable movie. It makes me appreciate being a black woman as well as appreciate the little freedoms that I have civilly as compared to then. The movie theater I went to is located in a trendy/hipster part of town inside of a highly regarded/rated (aka expensive) hotel. I walked out of the front doors of the hotel and across the street to the bus stop with an air of “How You Like Me NOW?” and I didn’t even do anything. LOL

Other than that, life is life. Everyone is alive and breathing and I am okay.

Well that’s it.
Take care of yourself.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Deleted user February 01, 2017

I love going to the movies by myself. It sounds like you had a nice time.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ February 02, 2017

I really did. I was earlier than I realized. I miss going to movies and doing things during the week after work.

Deleted user February 01, 2017

I took my eldest to see Hidden Figures, she's eight, wants to work at NASA. I've tried to explain to here how things were back then, and how they still are now, but it was a hard concept for her to grasp. Aside from them being woman, I couldn't get her to understand why those particular woman were so inspirational. She couldn't see why having a different skin colour should mean that those women had it harder than any other woman. She'll learn, and when she does, I'll have her watch it again, the movie will take on a whole new meaning for her.
The best part, or maybe the worst, was the two elderly women sitting in the row in front of us, woman who would have been adults back then. We sat and watched them after the film. They couldn't move for five minutes, they were crying so much.

It's been a long time, by the way, but I'm back. It's good to see you're still here too.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ February 02, 2017

Likewise. I do hope you are faring well these days. I've been wondering how you are.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.