fun home. in 2017. got it.

Revised: 01/07/2018 10:26 p.m.

  • Jan. 19, 2017, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

so like i said i saw ‘fun home’ w/ my mom last wk. the musical since apparently yes it’s a musical. it’s one of those new shows. [well every season they have new shows either on b’way or here or ‘here’ again being CO]. no i mean as opposed to a.........a revival like cats was. i loved cats. or dreamgirls. or something i’ve already heard of like mamma mia. it was really interesting. it’s not funny. er well some parts are funny but i wouldn’t describe it as a comedy is what i meant. maybe a dramady. maybe.
It’s about relationships and homosexuality and family. yeah both the dad and the daughter are gay. oh there’s a suicide scene in it it’s not graphic or anything but just so people know. it is def. an adult show. It’s not something for children to see. um it’s idinno. The dad is exploring his sexuality just as the daughter is. only he hasn’t seen the world as it is. he hasn’t travelled or at least that’s not mentioned. so he might not know how others live and he might not know it’s ok to be gay. and maybe it wasn’t at the time when he was growing up. his world.only contains where he lives and the people he lives w/. ya know whereas i’ve travelled. I’ve lived in fl and vermont. I’ve been to mexico or wherever. And the dad according to the show at least is limited in that he hasn’t. he also grew up in a time where.it was limited things were limited. it’s 2017. it’s ok to be.whatever. According to the book’s Wikipedia page [cause the show was based on a book a comic book but they’re called graphic novels. only to me a graphic novel is something.different] it seems like she saw something unmanly in him and she wanted to fix it. that’s my take on it anyway i don’t know i’ve never read the book nor have I met this woman the author. i could be completely wrong.
yeah apparently guys. aren’t the best at communicating. well communicating is hard in general. for people. In the show they talk about books. but they don’t talk about like issues. so and not just my dad. like my mom & I can talk about issues. or people. or what’s going on in the news or what oprah’s talking about [back when i was still watching oprah]. and my dad & I.can’t he doesn’t connect in that way and my friend Mark doesn’t either. My dad’s not a bad guy he just.wasn’t all there when I was growing up. and i think.like i want more of a reason to not trust him then i have. like an actual real reason. Back when I was still cutting I felt this way. like i wish i had a real reason to cut. yes but the pain of not having enough pain is still pain.
so yeah. um interesting show that.


Last updated January 07, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.