Annus Horribilis Terminus in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 30, 2016, 4:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This shall be my last entry in this book. FLIGHT LOG 2016 will go to the archives (as did The Not So Daily Briefs 2014 and The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era 2015). People who have stayed with me are… saints. I looked up my previous two books and the sheer amount of writing has exponentially EXPLODED. 2014: 152 Entries; 2015: 384 Entries; 2016: 507 Entries! Fun Math Statistics. From 2014 to 2015… the number of entries doubled (and more, as the number is actually 2.5x). From 2015 to 2016… the number of entries only increased by 30%. HOWEVER… from 2014 to 2016… the number of entries More than tripled (as the actual number is 3.33x). That doesn’t even include other books like Intellectual Concepts & Controversies, Explicit Content, Open Diary Beginnings (which doesn’t get ADDED to but still creates the total number of entries), Collection of Work (used sporadically), and Therapy (which I hope will see more entries in the relatively near future).

All told, all books combined (not including the 8 entries waiting in Drafts), I’ve written over 1,205 entries in Prosebox. I wonder… is that evidence that I like to write… evidence of narcissism as most entries written are about myself in some way… evidence of a troubled soul as there is so much to write… or do I just get bored easily? A question to debate, I suppose.

My last day of the recorded 2016 has progressed steadily if less Officially Productively. We’ve thrown considerably more boxes and file cabinets in what will become Ran’s office. He hasn’t been down all week. Nor has he gone to Boss’ office. So… he’s been on the County Payroll all week and has spent zero time with the outgoing County Attorney or in the incoming office. I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt and assume he’s been working but… it would be a lot better if Boss or I had seen him and spoken with him.
I’ve thoroughly cleaned my desk… and have decided that I should attempt to move my phone closer to me. Perhaps if it was nearer my computer, I would work faster. Theory but a theory worth testing. I also compiled the complete list of cases I am working on and cases I need Ran’s help with. Also… informing him of the very nebulous issues of the office. Like… what cases am I supposed to work on? And IF we ever get this office to function properly, could you maybe let me sit 2nd Chair to learn how to do the job properly? Tiny things like that.

The plan for after work is much the same as last Friday. Clean house, pack belongings, head to Des Moines when Wife gets back from work. Drive two hours, arriving between midnight and 1 a.m. Then tomorrow will need to be sufficiently different. I need* to get my oil changed. I need to send in my Attorney License Renewal Fees and Paperwork. I’d like to re-work my Pathfinder Character as I level him up to 6. I’d like to work on Thank You Notes (as I plan on asking some of my rich, successful family members for help on “learning to network” and “cold calling into a career.”) And if not finished today, I’d really like to work a thorough Case Completion Plan for my remaining case load. Then tomorrow night… Lobster with Parents and Ames Family! Followed by Red Green and Classic Doctor Who with the Wife. Then… 2017 happens.
( end segment: 12:09)

(12:30)
Brief Item: I’m actively doing something I know I need to do to succeed. Going through files, throwing some out, refiling others, basic work. And yet… I am bored. My mind is off considering and contemplating. And I think, ultimately (confusingly) this is a key issue I have with this present employment. Even when there are things to do, even when I’m doing them… I remain bored.
(12:31)

(14:42)
Bored as this whole process has made me… it is good to have my desk back. It is good to know what is going on. It is good to have a semblance of hope that 2017 might be better. A new individual to whom I can say, “I received an arrest report, but charges weren’t filed. This seems fishy. Can we fix it?” Even the hope, however small, that questionable things will at least be looked into… that is good for me. The “status quo” lazy “too old to care” shit was not cutting it.
(14:42)

So to all… a safe weekend and a HAPPY NEW YEAR!


Rivercity December 30, 2016

Writing a lot, I think, means you're a writer. Is this the best venue, though? Je ne sais pas. Best wishes for the new year.

Always Laughing December 30, 2016

Happy New Year to you too

Deleted user December 30, 2016

I think it's pretty damn great that you write so much. Sometimes I lament the previous years' entries/books that I've deleted, even though I did for reasons that I still find acceptable today. But still! It's really cool to be able to have all of this progress documented, and I'm glad you're going to continue. It's been an enjoyable time reading you!

Deleted user December 31, 2016

Happy New Year ! I am very behind in reading ! So they did hire Ran :-(

hot-lips December 31, 2016

Writing is good - therapeutic, especially when work life and personal life aren't exactly going great! Hope the family advice re networking is helpful. I need to learn to do that too, it's all about who you know, not how hard you wok (I'm beginning to understand). Happy New Year. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.