Nobody said it was easy in The ugly truth about making babies

  • Dec. 13, 2016, 3:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was bound to happen, it’s come as by surprise, but I totally underestimated how it would make me feel.

One of my work besties is pregnant. She went for her 12 week scan yesterday and found out she’s having twins. Of course I’m absolutely thrilled for her, genuinely excited and happy for her and her boyf.

But there was a part of me that couldn’t help but think, how lucky that you have two for the price of one without having to go through any heartache to make it happen. And that was sad that it isn’t me. Especially after being so late last month.

It’s such a weird feeling, being so happy but so envious at the same time. She’s so so excited, and I’m excited for her, and it’s all we’ve talked about today. It’s been exhausting, putting on the brave face while a million thoughts swirled around my mind, wondering when or even if it’ll be my turn.

It’s terrifying, I’ve heard of so many people lately who’ve had ivf and it hasn’t worked. The thought of going through all of that and ending up with no babies, I don’t even know how to start processing that, although I know that it’s something I’ll have to think about.

I don’t even know what to think today.

Xx


Camdengirl December 13, 2016

Well there's definitely a thing where one person gets pregnant and people around them all start getting pregnant too... I'm not sure if it is pheromones or positive thoughts or whatever, but I lived in fear for my life when I worked on a floor that 4 secretaries got pregnant within about 6 months of each other!!!

TrippyNina December 13, 2016

I had a similar thing happen to me when trying for my second. I had two miscarriages and was becoming afraid and starting to wrap my head around the fact that it might not happen. I was happy to have one healthy child and that maybe I was asking for too much. Suddenly, my co-worker announced her pregnancy and within days of that, my best friend told me she was expecting. Neither was trying. It was heartbreaking but I put on a brave face and hide my emotions.
I, thankfully, was became pregnant about 7 months later and this time, it stuck.
I know your situation is different but know that I'm sending you love and light. I truly hope it happens for you soon.
xoxoxoxo

The Tranquil Loon December 14, 2016

XX hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.