T-5 in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 8, 2016, 9:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Still no word about the interview. But truthfully, that really isn’t reason to panic. Hell, my county took three months after interviews to get back to people… and all they said was “We want to re-interview.” Granted, my county is a broken, broken mess but… I figure it is perfectly understandable to not have heard from Polk County yet since they only concluded Interviews on Monday night.

My “Good Boy December” is already becoming a bit of a challenge. Obviously the whole sexy time stuff is a challenge due to being ME and being married to WIFE; but more than that. For instance… yeah, Tuesday and Wednesday I really feel like I earned my paycheck. And there is every reason to believe that I might feel like that after today, too. Because I have depositions and some paperwork stuff that needs to be taken care of. But.... here’s the thing… it is -12 Centigrade out there… and I am sleepy to the point of exhaustion. So… I will honestly be surprised if today is as productive as I would like it to be. I would much rather go back to bed; take a 4 hour nap, and then do a little work.

All things considered… this week has been busy and will continue to be. And not all of it positive, I’ll confess. While I have certainly been pushing forward at work; home life has gotten… tense? A little? Wife has been home more this week as she hasn’t been scheduled at work much. Keeping this in mind, and her desire to do things with her day, I rather assumed things like Cleaning and Cooking would be taken care of. To her own admission, and to her own frustration, she’s spent most of her off days on the couch watching TV. She “did” laundry and dishes yesterday… but when I came home, she hadn’t actually taken that last step of putting the laundry away or putting the dishes away. She asked me to do it, which is fine, but then asked me to help cook. Normally, this isn’t a problem. But lately… Wife doesn’t consider things like how long something takes to cook. For example, we started cooking at 6 p.m. Wife chose the recipe, we got to work, and didn’t start eating until 9 p.m. The whole while Wife complaining that the food was going to be too bland (because she couldn’t see how the ingredients would combine into something flavorful). I asked, point blank, “You seem to hate the domestic stuff. What would you say to you getting the job that makes the money, and me working Part Time and doing dishes, laundry, cooking every day?” She didn’t like that idea either. I’m starting to wonder if this is her Location Based Depression (that we saw in Omaha and Here) or if this is more of an honest personality thing. Technically… it really doesn’t matter either way. She is my wife and I love her and enjoy having her in my life. I just… honestly wish we could synchronize a little better. On her days off… she sleeps until 9 or 10 in the morning, and is usually watching TV when I come home at 5 and watches TV until we go to bed. When she works… she sleeps until 9 or 10 in the morning, grabs stuff to commute to work and comes home around 9:30 p.m. where all she wants to do is sit around and watch TV. It… it isn’t a great way for our relationship to continue or grow.

But then… that is me complaining and I didn’t want to do that. I guess I’m just so tired that my ability to stay strong and true to those goals is a little weakened. Which, frankly, is a touch embarrassing. There are people on Prosebox and friends of mine around the world doing so much more than I and are persevering. But… I needn’t be embarrassed. Each person feels pain in his own way, each has his own scars. -Haruki Murakami.

Christmas Wishes:
A good, rejuvenating massage
Healthy Sex Life/Healthy Relationships
A job that helps me grow, learn, and improve
Living in a healthy, growing community
A real vacation. Every vacation I’ve had in the last 10 years has been a family reunion, wedding, or work-related. I have never in my post-undergrad life taken any sort of actual vacation. I’m starting to think I should.

alt text


hot-lips December 08, 2016

Wow, -12 deg C? Where are you in the US again? It seems like you and your wife are stuck in a bit of a rut. I'm not exactly a domesticated goddess, I can be a bit messy - but I live by myself and eventually the mess will begin to annoy me. lol Maybe you can plan a surprise date night to try and get some spark back into your relationship? How far is the nearest decent town with restaurants for example? Hope you hear back from the interview soon. Our HR are notoriously slow, I remember applying for a job internally once and it was weeks before I heard anything back!

Amaryllis December 08, 2016

I'm bad at domestic stuff, too. I think if I didn't work at all, I might manage it - maybe - but so much of it just seems pointless. You can wear clothes a ton before they really need to be cleaned, so I pretty much just do socks/underwear/pajamas + few-things-that-have-been-worn-too-much laundry once a month, if that. I am very minimalistic with cooking and dishes, reusing the same plate all day for myself and and making the same 3-4 easy one-pan or one-pot meals over and over again, so dishes and cooking take care of themselves. I have to force myself to clean the bathroom once a month but I HATE IT and every time I just think about how much I should pay someone to do this degrading labor rather than doing it myself. Everything else I pretty much don't do. Just seems like a waste of time, you know?

That said, my husband's work is more difficult than mine, requires a commute, and really stresses him out, so he is not responsible for any housework, and whatever he asks for in the house that's bothering him, I do. Thankfully he has almost as low of a threshold for caring about cleanliness as I do.

I do hate clutter, though; I remove everything that shouldn't be on a surface from the surface every night, so there is never any clutter to clean up. It's just dusting/sweeping/mopping etc that gets ignored.

Rhapsody in Purple December 09, 2016

I think a vacation is a good idea. go somewhere new and exciting.
Also, i don't know if work related travel can be classed under 'vacation'.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.