Pardon??????? in blackpropaganda

  • Dec. 8, 2016, 6:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Over the last couple of years I have realised my hearing has deteriorated - and SW… has been making barbed remarks when I fail to hear what she says - normally nodding when she asks me a question without any idea what hse has asked.
Also I need the tv up to an unacceptable level of volume - which is fact rarely helps because it is about clarity.
I have asked around, especially to people who have hearing aids - and eventually bit the bullet and made an appointment in town with Specsavers - who also do hearing tests. A nice young lady took me through the tests - and I do have a deterioration in both ears - the left one being the worst. And the result - yep - I am going to have hearing aids in both ears - nice automatic ones which can be adjusted. Before then I have to have my left ear syringed to get rid of the wax which has built up.
All bring well by Christmas I shall be able to hear everything anyone says - and it is worth spending money to having to say ‘Pardon, could you say that again’.

And another old Christmas cartoon retrieved from Photofucket
alt text


Marg December 09, 2016

Maybe you shoukd hang on to see what the effect of getting your ear syringed is? That might make enough of a difference in itself?

blackpropaganda Marg ⋅ December 09, 2016

one of the tests bypasses the eardrum -and shows the deterioration - now softening the wax!

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ December 10, 2016

Ah right.

colojojo January 04, 2017

My dad has had hearing aids his whole life due to having measles at 5. Even with hearing aids he struggled. One of the best things he did for himself when it came to tv and entertainment is buy headphones for the tv. It was perfect because he could crank the sound in his own ears while the rest of us could watch/listen at normal volume. It also worked great when we did homework or wanted to do something other than listen to the tv--he would just mute the tv and listen through his headphones. If you find that you still have the tv much louder, maybe it's something to look into?

blackpropaganda colojojo ⋅ January 04, 2017

TV has gone down ten notches - and I have real clarity now, which was the problem. In fact sometime the sounds of nature become too sharp.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.