Selfish vs. Self care in The Present

  • Nov. 15, 2016, 7:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want him to stop talking to her.

He can’t abandon anyone (or thing-he’s such a pack rat).

She’s having a shitty time at life. So much is going bad for her, and much of it is medically related. Stuff she has no control over. She relies upon him as a rock. He’s one of her few friends, despite having never met in person.

He sees someone hurting and in pain, someone who needs him, someone he cannot abandon.

I feel like a selfish bitch for wanting him to stop. He could be a support system for her that she desperately needs.

But at the same time, I really wish I had closure. I wish that the connection was not such that she needed him. I wish that they did not have this connection so that she could rely on him so.

And I don’t know, maybe I’m worried that he relies upon her, too.

You want to know the most disturbing/masochistic apart? I’m friends with her, too. When everything all came out, she wanted to talk to me to apologize. And so we text every once in a while, but it’s been quite a while since we’ve talked. We’re friends on Facebook, although recently I unfollowed her. I don’t know what is best for me-keep your friends close and your enemies closer? Or cut her out so I don’t have the constant reminder?

What’s really frustrating is she is a nice person. I don’t dislike her. Maybe we could be real friends if she hadn’t decided to cyber fuck my husband. And truth be told, if she were to read this, I think she’d be very hurt at how I feel. I don’t want to hurt her-or anyone. Two wrongs don’t make a right. But I also don’t want to hurt any more myself.

I feel like the Christian thing would be to turn the other cheek, welcome her as a friend and embrace her friendship with my husband.

But the human thing is to hold a grudge, to see hurt, anger, and frustration every time I see her face, and at the very least to protect myself from any further indiscretions.

I’m trying to figure out how to forgive and heal all at once, and I’m afraid my perceptions of what those two actions look like are very contradictory.


perfunctory November 15, 2016

Sounds like some lines were crossed here. There's nothing wrong with setting some healthy boundaries with her, for both you and your husband. I hope it all works out! I can't blame you for feeling the way you do.

Nope. perfunctory ⋅ November 15, 2016

Thanks. Yes, lines were definitely crossed when the entered into a cyber relationship with each other.

NeonLady November 15, 2016

The Christian thing is to forgive - but that doesn't mean you have to welcome in with open arms! Christians are to forgive but they're also to flee from sin, from any temptation that we know would lead down a dark path. Welcoming her into your life and your husband's life - that's playing with fire. You can wish her well and still keep her out. It's not YOUR problem that she's having problems. What he's saying is that he cares more about her feelings than yours. So what I'm saying is that you shouldn't feel guilty. He's YOUR husband and you have the right to demand that your feelings trump hers. I think it's just icing on the cake that you don't hate her.

Nope. NeonLady ⋅ November 16, 2016

Well said. Very true. And I have a problem with putting other people's problems above my own.

WizeArtWorx November 16, 2016

Granted, I'm newly married so maybe I don't know what I'm talking about here,but I believe that the man you marry puts you first. If that were my husband I'd make him cut off contact!

I agree, the "Christian" attitude is to forgive, but I don't think that means that you need to befriend her at the same time. And I'm sorry, but if this woman was really your friend, she'd have enough respect for both your husband and your marriage to leave well enough alone and find another person to confide in. They both crossed a line, and it comes across as you allowing it to continue because no ultimatums have been issued about the two of them maintaining a relationship.

Having said that, I'm so sorry, I can't even imagine how hard this must be to go through.

Thinking of you <3

Nope. WizeArtWorx ⋅ November 16, 2016

Thanks. It's definitely an awkward situation that I openly admit I've enabled by not standing up for myself and trying to be what I thought was the bigger person.

Deleted user November 17, 2016

I don't know if you can make him do anything (just looking at the words of other notes). I think that not talking to her should be a natural progression for him to realize how important his marriage is to him and how much he wants it to heal. It cannot heal while she is still in the middle of your lives.

Regardless of friendships, having her there will allow the wound to never fully close. I am not saying this to judge but his actions indicate selfishness and unwillingness to fully admit that he still has feelings for her.

I've attempted to carry on a friendship with a guy who I used to flirt with before I met my husband. We cooled it after I met my husband. After I got married we started chatting again, and he was incapable of talking to me like a normal person, it was always sexually charged conversation on his part. I had to end it. Then we got in touch again and same thing so I ended it again. I felt it was disrespectful to my relationship, my husband and myself.

He may not be having sexually charged conversations with her anymore, however it's there, those feelings don't just die, they stay alive with the contact and it's very telling that he is still involved with her, even on a platonic level.

Nope. Deleted user ⋅ November 18, 2016

I concur, which is the problem. What I want/need is for him to make the decision that he needs to drop her. He needs to make the choice that I'm worth it, i won't make that choice for him. At this point, I think I just need to come to terms that he will never stop this and I either have to deal with it or leave.

Deleted user Nope. ⋅ November 18, 2016

I agree, he does have to make the decision naturally I'm just surprised that he doesn't see that it's an absolute necessity for your marriage. Do you think you could leave?

Nope. Deleted user ⋅ November 18, 2016

No. too much pride, too many kids.

Deleted user Nope. ⋅ November 18, 2016

How many kids do you two have?

Nope. Deleted user ⋅ November 18, 2016

2.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.