What's harder... in Torridaussity Two

  • Nov. 13, 2016, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Having a loved one die with no warning or watching them slowly slip away from you? I have been absent from writing because life has continued to be tough, but I am no longer feeling depressed. I am taking one day at a time and haven’t fixed my finances yet, but I am doing better. My grandfather is not. I have had family members suffer from cancer and die, have some die in the blink of an eye and others slowly decline until their bodies just give up and that is what my grandfather’s body is doing. Each day he grows weaker, he is bed fast. He rarely eats. When he speaks his voice is quiet. We don’t know when his time will come, but we know he won’t be coming back from this decline. My answer to the question is neither one is easy at least not for me. I don’t handle loss very well at least not when it happens, I do heal and move on and I think that is because of my faith and that I know I will see them again someday. My focus is on my family right now and although I am not happy with my finances, I can deal with them after I get through this. Things are not getting worse, I am actually making a craft and selling them and that is bringing in some extra money as well as being therapeutic for me. I will post pics of it. To me right now nothing is more important than my family.
As the turmoil in the US continues I try to look for the good in the US and I try to be the good because I am already saddened by my family situation. I ask each one of you to do this, tell people you love them, stick up for those being hurt because others now feel they have right to be open about their hate, be supportive of one another. I felt that neither one of the main candidates should have been the people running, but I can’t change that, what I can be is an example of love. I don’t talk about politics because I feel everyone has the right to voice their opinion and not be judged for it. The only way we can move forward as a nation is to bring together the good people in the US to outshine the bad. Let your love shine people make the US better anyway you can that is safe, that is filled with love, tolerance, and peace.
Below is what I am making it is one piece with two sides, a scarecrow for fall and snowman for winter. Tell me your thoughts.

20161023_194932

20161023_194905


Nope. November 13, 2016

I'd rather see it happen suddenly. Neither is easy, but at least when it happens quickly you don't have the opportunity for false hope.

Always Laughing Nope. ⋅ November 13, 2016

I understand that point. At least in this case I don't have false hope but have been able to spend more time with him.

Nope. Always Laughing ⋅ November 13, 2016

True. My MIL passed from cancer 3 years ago. It was a strange combo of both. Overall, it was about 6 months from diagnosis to death, but her decline was very quick. Our borrowed time with her was able to be enjoyed.

Always Laughing Nope. ⋅ November 13, 2016

In all cases it is never easy :-(

Leanne 🌈 November 13, 2016

I am so sorry about your grandfather it is never easy .... I saw my dad & grandmother suffer for so long with their illness. Hugs.
The election meh I am still in shock .... Tired of all the hate. sighs
Trying very hard to stay positive.

I love just love what you have created. ... just awesome. 💛😊🙌

Always Laughing Leanne 🌈 ⋅ November 13, 2016

Thank you :-) and yes I am tired of the hate which is why I will choose to share love whenever and where ever I can :-) I am sorry you had to see your loved ones suffer.

Always Laughing Leanne 🌈 ⋅ November 13, 2016

Thank you :-) and yes I am tired of the hate which is why I will choose to share love whenever and where ever I can :-) I am sorry you had to see your loved ones suffer.

Always Laughing Leanne 🌈 ⋅ November 13, 2016

Thank you :-) and yes I am tired of the hate which is why I will choose to share love whenever and where ever I can :-) I am sorry you had to see your loved ones suffer.

Shattered November 13, 2016

I love your craft!

Always Laughing Shattered ⋅ November 14, 2016

Thank you

Deleted user November 14, 2016

I'm so sorry about your grandfather. Neither way is easy. Neither way is preferred. Loss is just, it's awful. It rips at the heart and soul and when we lose them slowly, we grieve way before the finality of death. My mom survived for 5 years with cancer. I grieved for more than half of that because I eventually knew that she wasn't going to go into remission. Then I heavily grieved for two more years. There's just no way to make peace with it until after the grief. I wish you weren't losing him.

I love your craft. It's wonderful that it can be used for both the fall and the winter.

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ November 15, 2016

Thank you for your comments, loss is never easy and thanks for the compliment.

Deleted user November 14, 2016

Sorry about your Grandfather :( I think it's best to have a warning...My Mom died suddenly and it was the worst ever for me and my dad. But 10 years after that my Dad died but I knew he was...it's bad both ways but if I could chose it would be for the heads up. HUGS Your Christmas cuties are adorable!

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ November 15, 2016

Thank you and hugs back

Park Row Fallout November 15, 2016

Sorry about your grandfather. We watched my last grandparent die slowly this year as well and it is very hard. I think both slow and fast have positives and negatives.

Always Laughing Park Row Fallout ⋅ November 15, 2016

Thank you and I agree I have seen family go both ways and for me neither is easy.

Small Town Girl November 16, 2016

Neither is easy. I feel like sudden deaths are more of a shock and harder to wrap your head around. Its harder to grieve when you are stuck in the shock phase. But on the other hand, nobody wants to watch someone suffer long and painfully.

Loved what you said about the hate surrounding this election. You are spot on, and I love the two crafts!! How adorable!!

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ November 16, 2016

Thank you

Mountain N Snow November 30, 2016

Hey, those decorations are rad! I'm sorry I haven't been around much. School is kicking my butt. lol. Any way, I hope to catch up on some of your entries soon... and I'm incredibly sorry about your grandpa. I've lost many family and friends from cancer and sudden death (accidents). I lost my beloved grandma this July and these holidays are really tough for me every year... especially now that my family is dwindling by so much. So much love for you and mad respect for how you cope.

Always Laughing Mountain N Snow ⋅ November 30, 2016

Thank you, Sorry to hear about your grandma. Hope you make it through school with little battle scars lol

.Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. December 01, 2016

I'm sorry about your grandfather. I'm hoping things are beginning to feel like they're going back to normal. I like the craft you made. They're adorable!

Always Laughing .Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. ⋅ December 01, 2016

Thank you

Reading_Blankie 📚 December 04, 2016

I'm sorry about your grandfather.

I kind of get how you feel. I watched my grandmother decline near the end. She went a little loopy, and had a stroke. Thankfully, she finally passed in her sleep.

Your little crafts are cute. (hugs)

Always Laughing Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ December 04, 2016

Thank you and we are hoping that he doesn't get any other health complications and just goes to sleep one night and that's how he goes.

Cricket December 05, 2016

I'm so sorry about your grandfather. I lost mine a few months ago, and it's so horrible to lose a loved one--sudden or slowly. I can't even think of which is worse bc both ways is pretty awful to me. I can take comfort, though, in knowing he's no longer suffering. <3

Always Laughing Cricket ⋅ December 05, 2016

I think that is what I always think of too, when they are gone there is no suffering.

WomanOfSteele December 13, 2016

I'm sorry to hear about your Grandpa. <3 There's never an easy way to say goodbye to someone you love.

The snowman/scarecrow is so cute and that's awesome that you're making some money off them!

Always Laughing WomanOfSteele ⋅ December 13, 2016

Thank you :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.