State of the Beta in Site Updates

  • Nov. 12, 2016, 11:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

People keep asking, so instead of trying to address individual comments, I’ll just write a quick update. As it stands, the following things are missing from the beta site: (prosebox.com)

  • Notifications when I write something in this book (Site Updates). Which means if you’re on prosebox.com and you aren’t following me, there’s a very good chance you’ll miss this. Oops.

  • Proper formatting (e.g. Preview) and the toolbar on the Write Entry screen. Going to add that toolbar to the right side bar.

  • Ability to ignore personalization settings of others (there’s a setting already, it’s just not wired up yet). This could actually be a nice thing to have; the rapid switch from black to white can be a little jarring on your eyes as you browse.

  • Search bar. Doesn’t do anything yet. I’ll start out by moving over the user search/browse stuff, but I want to expand the search bar to do cooler and better things.

Seems like there’s something else I’ve forgotten. Hmmm. Anyway, it’s still a work in progress. I’m leaving the .net site up as an alternative until I have all these things worked out. Personal life is falling a bit behind so it might be a bit before everything is addressed.

Prose Minister out.


simple mind November 12, 2016

And how funny... in my "on this day" side bar is and entry about the "news carousel" missing from prosebox.com.

Deleted user November 12, 2016

Family comes first. Always. Plus taking good care of yourself and having fun in life. I have switched over to Prosebox dot com and I love it. Thrilled that even more cool things are to come! You take good care.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 12, 2016

Thanks WildRose! :)

Anaiss November 12, 2016

I'm not on Beta yet, but I'm having an issue with the original. It is often kicking me off PB when I try to access my comments. I get the white page of death with an error message and I have to re-open PB.

Deleted user November 12, 2016

Family always comes first! Thanks for trying to work these things out when you have the time. Life gets pretty crazy when you're looking or not looking. I was wondering if there would be changed made to the actual text box, or if it's just me being a goof, but as it stands now, I can't see all of the content that I've written, as the "box" doesn't seem to expand with my writing. If that makes sense. I can try to explain it to you better when I have time, when you also have time. Thank you!

Leanne 🌈 November 12, 2016

Take care of your awesome family and of yourself. As always many thanks for all that you do here sir. 😊

Phade November 12, 2016

Ohhhh ok that's why it seems like the dark theme doesn't follow through when I read other people's entries

Camdengirl November 12, 2016

Noticed the historical entries (this time last year etc) which is a nice touch.... calendar view coming???

kmh. November 12, 2016

Thank you :) I was wondering why the ignoring personalisation wasn't working.

Mystery November 13, 2016

Wish you'd let us upload our own background pics. Sorry, but there's just not a good variety in the ones you have. :) I hope the toolbar that allows for italics and bolding is up soon.

EvequeFou November 13, 2016

Feature request: The tabbed forward/back at the top is great for saving space. However, I pretty much exclusively use Bookmarks, so it has doubled my number of clicks to advance.

Any chance the selected tab could be sticky from page to page?

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ November 13, 2016

Yeah, was actually thinking about that myself. Good suggestion.

crystal butterfly November 13, 2016

That must explain why PB.com is so slow. I went to the beta site. But I have always heard that beta is still experimental so didn't want to switch until you were done.

Amelie's Twin November 14, 2016

Yes, personal life does come first.

Is there going to be a way, eventually, to change which tab the Previous and Next buttons default to, at the top of the entry (I think that's the "sticky header" that was giving people grief)? For example, I like to be able to go back and forth within my Bookmarks, instead of within the Author I'm currently reading, so having to click on Bookmarks before clicking Next does get old after awhile. . .but not unbearable.

Thanks! Love the beta site so far.

simple mind Amelie's Twin ⋅ November 14, 2016

Thanks, someone else mentioned that as well. I noticed it using it too.

Amelie's Twin simple mind ⋅ November 14, 2016

Thanks! Glad to hear it's on your radar.

Deleted user November 14, 2016

Hello PB Master. I've noticed quite a bit of slowdown in the last few weeks on the PB.net side of things. Just curious as to whether anyone else was having the same issue, or if it's something you've already planned to address. Looks like on the PB.com site it's not an issue though.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 14, 2016

Yes, unfortunately the .net side is having issues, I'd bump up the memory on that server if I wasn't getting ready to retire it soon.

middle age pearl November 17, 2016

I am such a creature of habit and automatically go to .net. I need to remove that bookmark. lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.