This City Ain't The Same in Him

  • Oct. 20, 2016, 9 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was just thinking about music and it’s influence. I was thinking about the day you picked me up and I Remember came on. I had spent the day crying about you I think. I forgot what I saw, what happened, but I know I was sad. But I knew what we were and I knew what this was. So my only options were to either A) walk away and save further heartbreak or B) shut the fuck up and take my lumps.

Then I remembered the song you said, you think about when you come to town and think of me. This song hit home and made me cry further. So I thought of the song and while I’m glad we are done, I sometimes miss how we were. Any that asks how our relationship was, I tell them to listen to this. This is so us…

It was cold outside, so I thought I’d get a way to the one place where I’d be warm.
Spent my last few dollars on a ticket to fly.
Ooh, I’ma take a jet plane to carry me straight to your arms.
And when the wheels touched down, I called for you.
Said, “Baby, I’m here all for you.”
And you let me know that you were with her.
It made me wonder baby are we still in love.
Then I thought to myself, maybe we never were.

And I’ve only got myself to blame for painting these skies with your name.
And it’s a crying shame ‘cause this city ain’t the same without you baby.
These streets where we walked hand in hand.
Sharing our dreams, making our plans.
And no one understands ‘cause the city ain’t the same without you babe.

And I was waiting for an invitation thinking maybe you would send one.
You could’ve left me in any town; Ooo Any town but this one.
But now that you’ve gone away it feels like what we had wasn’t real at all.
Missing your heartbeat while the city sleeps away.

And I’ve only got myself to blame for painting these skies with your name.
And it’s a crying shame cause the city ain’t the same without you babe.
I’ll kiss the wind and breathe your air and all this loneliness I bear.
But it seems so unfair ‘cause this city ain’t the same without you babe.

La la, la la, la la, la la, la la, la la, la la
Letting you go, letting you go…
(this city ain’t the same without you babe)
La la, la la, la la, la la, la la, la la, la la
Letting you got, letting you go…
(this city ain’t the same without you)

Spent my last few dollars on a ticket to fly.
Gonna take a jet plane to carry me straight to your arms…


Comfortably Numb October 20, 2016

Deleted user October 20, 2016

Gilraent October 20, 2016

wow those lyrics kind of hit home.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ October 20, 2016

EEEEEEEEEEEXACTLY!!
lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.