Visit to the Doctor for my Clubbed Foot Baby in Adventures of New baby and family

  • Aug. 10, 2016, 8:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well he’s going in for surgery next week. As much as I tried to prepare myself for that it was still tough to hear. As he’s going through what to expect and if I wanted a 2nd opinion, which I didn’t, listening to him with the risks and benefits was hard. Somehow hearing it and picturing your little guy on a gurney being wheeled off is hard especially when he’s so little. Then they got into the feeding part and that he will have to not have a bottle for a length of time. (HEARTBreaking) Knowing I can’t feed him when he’s hungry. *cry
This is for his own good. It disheartened me to watch him stand up and his feet to be sideways when he does. Every time he does that I cringe. Every time knowing that surgery would be needed. I know it will be all right, but still. We have been through much worse this year. Both of us. Somehow it was easier knowing it was my body and he was protected from all this.

Its getting to be a year when this all started and with that said..... this little surgery is the only thing he has from the adventure.
It was near the end of August…Aug 24. I had a amniocentesis and it went wrong. Horribly wrong. The 1% that something could go wrong was me and this little guy. They said I might leak and that it would seal up right away. It didn’t ....not right away, not for months. I leaked and the fluid was low. The end of Aug I really leaked and went to the hospital expecting them to say he was done. I was only at 15 weeks when this started . The hospital thing, I was almost 17 weeks. Week by week I know the OB expected that anytime I would miscarry. I got the same talk over and over week after week about the fluid level, about infection and what to do. They talked about hospital bedrest at 24 weeks if I got to that week. Sigh...... Felt like I was a ticking time bomb. Felt if he was meant to be he was meant to be, if he wasn’t then that was Gods will. But even before this he was tough and deep down I didn’t think he would go anywhere. As the weeks went on they would let me know how his progress was doing..... He would be small as I had IUGR (inter-uterine Growth restriction) from the restricted fluid. He would probably have clubbed feet- again from the fluid problem. I could live with that I said. When they are talking about him not surviving and him being a micro-preemie or a preemie to think that he could be small and have crooked feet were LOW on the list. I thought to myself.....me with a small baby what would I do with that… would he be normal size instead of the BIG babies I usually have you know a 6-7lbs instead of the 8-9+lbs.

Well despite the more than grim prognosis, he was small.....5lbs 8oz and did have bilateral clubbed feet.

So after almost a year.....this is what we are dealing with.... This little guy has jumped through hurls to be here and this is a minor set back that one day will never know how hard he had it. We can get through this.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.