Promoted in The Devil Beneath My Feet

  • Aug. 9, 2016, 9:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dang it’s been a long time since i wrote in here.

So i got promoted. It was kind of a shock. The Service Coordinator position at my job opened up, and i went for it. It’s a hectic job, basically constant chaos, but that’s where i’m at my best, usually. I’m an INTP-A personality type so it’s kind of ideal. It’s a tricky job, there’s a lot of politics and keeping the technicians happy is a beast in and of itself, they’re all such fucking babies, but i find i do best in hectic and matriarchal positions and that’s exactly what i’d have here.

I have to train my replacement dispatcher, and then i’m officially moved into my very own office. That being said, this promotion is a big one. The money isn’t much better, but it wasn’t about money to begin with. It’s a change. I’m tired of dispatching and dealing with nothing but dickheads 100% of the fucking time, i’m just tired. I’ll have about a month probably to train my replacement and train for my new spot, which i feel will be sufficient.

TODAY HOWEVER. John called out with a stomach bug (bullshit, he’s just exhausted from having to do his job and Fran’s job now that she’s gone) so today was my first unofficial dive into Service. I got to schedule some things, and move some things around, i had to cancel an appointment which went fine actually and all in all, things played out well. Dan spent the day at the college and only called the office once to complain lol, Tim was up north god only knows where doing god only knows what, Allen and Fazil were out for the day, Mike was with Tim, Evan had 3 good sized jobs that he worked on all day and Nels was all over the fucking place, which kept it very interesting.

This is going to be a really hard job, and be a really big challenge, but i’m up for it.

That being said, lo and fucking behold, NYS is having their entry level civil service exam!!! The one i’ve been waiting for FUCKING ever for, and naturally the moment i get fucking promoted is when it rolls around. It’ll probably take a long time to get a call for a job, it all depends on their need for an office assistant and even then it depends on where it is, because if i have to schlep to Albany and back every day that’s gonna suck. If, however, i do get a prospect with NYS, i’ll drop Safeco like a hot fuckin potato. The benefits alone are worth something like $10,000, it’s unreal. And once you’re in, you’re in. You can test up or sideways or diagonally, as long as you take the tests you make more money. I can’t turn that down. Also starting salary is $2000 more than what i’m making in my promoted position, and the benefits are more plentiful and cost less. So, fingers crossed!


girlsetsfire August 10, 2016

Fingers crossed for you, dude.

abrawmclaren November 26, 2016

How in the actual, whole fuck did I miss this?! CONGRATULATIONS

also I am the worst friend. God. Seriously, amazing job dude.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.