Light! I have light! in Holy Shit!

  • July 13, 2016, 4:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The electrician just left here. Seemed like a really nice guy. He told me he was able to allow me to have use of my lights during that visit. Woohoo!

He pulled out the troublesome wire from the sparking light fitting and called out to me, as I’d gone back to the lounge. I walked into my room and he showed me the cord that he’d just pulled out from in the ceiling.

He even told me to take a photo of it.
alt text

That burnt part of the cord was way up within the ceiling.

I think we are very lucky. I have no idea how long ago that happened, but I sent my landlord the photo and told him he’s lucky the house didn’t go up!
We live in a completely wooden house. There’s not even a fire extinguisher in here anywhere. I actually went to work last Saturday wondering if I’d come home to a house. I’m not sure why that was on my mind that day compared to any other day in the last two weeks. I think it was because when I’d woken up, my reflexes automatically went to turn on the lights (even though I knew not to, but I must’ve been in a zombie-like state) but I suddenly remembered and turned them back off before the light short-circuited.

Anyway, so I have the use of the other three lights now. He’s pulled out that fitting and cords and said he will write up a quote for my landlord and I guess I’ll hear from him again sometime soon.

Just thankful to have a light in there again, so I can actually get changed for work somewhere other than the bathroom.

I think he’s replacing my fan too. He’d apparently been given set instructions from my landlord on what needs done. Of course the fan worked mine when he was here, turned on and off. I assured him that it sure as hell doesn’t when he’s not here.

Murphy’s Law and all that jazz.

I remember a poster that was in our farmhouse bathroom as a kid. It was a list of Murphy’s Law and this one stuck out in this case: “When a broken appliance is demonstrated for the repairman, it will work perfectly.”


Rerrin July 13, 2016

I'd put a piece of masking tape over the switch so if I touched it I'd remember! Glad it is being fixed though. That's so dangerous! Glad you're safe and the house didn't burn down. x

magicstar July 14, 2016

This is SO true. The first time I tried to get my landlord to fix my heater when I was living in Alaska, it hadn't turned on for me or done anything in weeks and the little bastard started right up when he finally came out to look at it. Which is why I spent the next three years freezing to death....

kmh. July 14, 2016

Oh my god, such a scary thought that the house could have gone up in flames so easily!

colojojo July 17, 2016

Shit! Quite lucky indeed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.