Control freak in The ugly truth about making babies

  • June 24, 2016, 11:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m struggling with the whole lack of control in this baby making situation. If I could take joey’s sperm out of his body and look after it properly I’d be like a billion times happier.

The drinking continues to be an issue on and off. It’s nothing like as bad as the week of the laying down the law, but if I had my way, he’d drink less, and less often. Still, you have to pick your battles and there has been an improvement.

My second issue is these lycopene tablets he said he’d take. There’s been a massive study done by Cambridge University that has tested the effect of high doses of lycopene on sperm count and found it has a positive effect in increasing sperm count. We discussed it, he said he’d try them, I ordered them, he’s taken 10 in the last 30 days, instead of one a day. The second month supply arrived today, and he’s barely bothered with last month.

I cancelled the subscription tonight. It’s a complete waste of my money if he’s not even going to take them, and frankly, knowing that it takes 3 months to produce sperm, I’ve been thinking that by August, if there’s been an improvement, it might help us to get pregnant without intervention.

I just feel frustrated that he’ll openly tell me he wants a baby, and fully expects that I’d have no problem with doing ivf if it came to it, but he won’t make some small changes that could be the different between us having to go through such invasion and not.

He still maintains that he would do ‘anything’ to be a dad, yet his actions are showing that he won’t. I’m half tempted to make an appointment to get the implant put back in. I just feel like it’s bad enough on the days be can’t be bothered to make an effort for me, and I’m the one who’s disappointed. I’d be devastated if this was a behaviour that was inflicted upon a child who wouldn’t understand why dad didn’t love them properly.

Xx


An_Italian_In_The_UK June 24, 2016

Just saw your entry on the front page, hope you don't mind the comment. I know how frustrating it can be and even more so when your partner doesn't show the interest you'd like him to. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you, and i hope he can see how much it's affecting you :(

Camdengirl June 25, 2016

Funnily enough AgentX was quite similar on the taking the vitamins thing - he'd do it when he remembered which was about once a week. Can you put them with something he does do every day like deodorant or on top of his toothbrush? I just think until the reality hits of the child it's not very real to them.

BlueEyes418 June 26, 2016

Frustrating, to say the least. Trying to conceive is such an emotional roller-coaster...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.