Summary update in The Rant Dump

  • June 23, 2016, 10:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Almost a year since I last wrote. Migrated here in America last October, didn’t write ever since. Last entry was dated September 2015. Of course it was about Dota 2. (I honestly think I wrote another one, but probably not here.)

Summary of what I was up to.

Alright, so came here in USA last October 2015. The laptop I had with me can’t run Dota 2, so I was looking forward to going frequently at a cafe. Well, there are no gaming cafes here. At least none nearby. Need to drive to get to one. And I don’t drive. No car of my own either. Dad needs it for work.

Then Dad gives me his own potato laptop. When I installed Dota 2, I prayed hard that it would run.

It did. With all its 15 fps grandeur, lowest settings, set on 480p resolution full screen. Hey, at least I can still play, right?

But when you’re playing with friends a world away, you also had ping spikes to think about. So my gaming life since then was a world of pain and lags. The laptop would scream at me like a jet engine; it would end up extremely febrile after one match.

Can’t last hit, can’t see teamfights, can’t respond fast enough for quick maneuvers. I was stuck with playing bot matches. I was fine with it, but I knew it would rot my brain. It always was different playing with humans.

The poor laptop died on April Fools’ Day this year, can you believe that. I was only able to buy a replacement laptop around the end of May, which closely corresponded with my birthday.

A gorgeous ASUS G751JT-WH71(WX). Yeah I wrote that from memory. I love it that much. It was for 1,100$, but sported a GTX970m and it never gets hot. Felt like I found a new best friend. When I first played Dota 2 on it, I got a headache because I wasn’t used to the 120 fps everything-on-ultra-settings at all. I thought it was really funny. And yep, it’s the computer I’m using to type all of this rants with right now.

I was jobless for months ever since coming here. Only got one at the end of February, thus I was able to afford the laptop. Honestly getting depressed here. Problems left and right. I never get time alone for myself anymore, and it’s very draining. Getting my social life from friends on Facebook and Steam. I’m glad they’re there for me.

Well, that’s it. This entry was supposed to be about something else, but this summary was too long. So thought of separating it with the actual thing I wanted to write about. Yokay, off to the next entry.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.