Orlando in Holy Shit!

  • June 12, 2016, 8:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s so sad to hear the breaking news about the shooting at Pulse in Orlando. A friend seems to think it’s a hate-crime, but the media are labelling it a terrorist attack.

But fuck, how terrifying for those patrons. 2am, probably very loud music, strobe lights, maybe a fog-machine, and some fucker waltzes on it and shoots dead 20 people and injures 46 (I think they said it was).

It’s hard to hear info on it here as it’s late at night on a Sunday, but it’s all over my Facebook gay media pages I follow. I switched the TV on to ABC News 24 to try and hear details and they mentioned it had occurred but not what the latest was.
I’ve read one report that the gunman has been killed. Another report said he’d taken two hostages.
I don’t know what to believe.

I could go into another spiel about my views on ‘Murica’s gun laws, but I’m already a broken record on that topic.
We had a gunman/hostage situation in our Lindt cafe siege here last year, so my country’s strict gun laws aren’t perfect either.

I’m a bit worried though because, uncannily, two of my relatives happen to be in Orlando at the moment. They only flew in within the past 24 hours according to their posts. One is my Aunty, who is there with her daughter (my cousin) for the ‘Miss World Fitness’ competition. She got 2nd btw!

I think they will be okay. It’s my other cousin Zac whom I’m concerned about. He’s gay and there’s a slight possibility that he could have been at that nightclub, but I’m really not sure. I sent him a Facebook message asking if he’s alright, but he was last active hours ago.

I’m sure he’s okay, but why does this shit have to happen? I was in Europe when the Paris attacks happened (I was headed there two days after), my parents were there when Brussels was bombed, and now two sets of cousins are in bloody Orlando.

RIP to all those innocent people :(

Edit:. He’s okay. He was just waking up to the news over there. He messaged back saying “Thank goodness my friend isn’t much of a going out person.”


Last updated June 12, 2016


whowhatwhere June 12, 2016

Oh my goodness!
Well I heard it from you first, and then I went to Yahoo to see what was up. I live only an hour from Orlando. It's like the land of the crazies here.

Your gun laws may not be perfect but just the day before some guy gunned down a talented singer for who knows why, again, in Orlando.

Deleted user June 12, 2016

::Hugs::

Perpetually Plump June 12, 2016

Over 50 people were killed and over 50 injured. It's heartbreaking. I grew up very close to there, and it made me sick to my stomach they my friends were having to mark themselves as safe from it. So much hate in this world.

kmh. June 13, 2016

So sad :(

The real me June 14, 2016

Glad your friend is ok. To me it's a hate crime. But so many here want to blame it on Isis and it's now going to dominate our elections. It's horrible and no one here in the us should be able to buy asult rifles or any automatic gun. Being from Maine and spending my winters close to Orlando along with being bisexual scares me when I go back in December.

colojojo June 16, 2016

Glad your family is okay. It's really sad that this has happened. I would consider it a hate crime, despite ISIS claiming it was one of their own. I had a coworker who believed that some of the crimes that have happened, terrorist attacks, may not have always been ISIS (or whatever the media trending terrorist group is) and believed that they would just claim the "credit" and that the person was part of them because they want to be the ones responsible for instilling the fear/power. I wouldn't be surprised if that were true.

KissOfLife! colojojo ⋅ June 16, 2016

I agree.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.