"Very straight-forward" in Political shit

  • May 30, 2016, 8:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“The question every Australian will be asked will be “very straightforward,” says the Prime Minister today.”


Very STRAIGHT-forward. Hmmmm.... yes.

I still don’t trust people. I think the question (especially in country areas) on the plebiscite form should be, “Are you a homophobic fuck-wit who doesn’t support the happiness of others?” - please answer ‘YES’ or ‘NO’.

Apparently the question in this year’s plebiscite will be along the lines of “Do you support the current definition of marriage being extended to included persons of the same gender?”

So, our federal election is on July 2nd. If the current government is re-elected, the plebiscite will go ahead “before the end of the year.” I was under the impression it was being done as a question alongside the ballot casting. Apparently not. Guess this explains why the damn thing is costing $550M+. Yep, no joke. It’s not $170M. It’s waaaaay more than that.

Meanwhile, the British consulate have been RAKING in the money because current laws state that if one of the same-sex persons in a relationship is a British Citizen, then they are legally allowed to marry here in Australia. I’m unsure if it needs to be in the British consulate building or if the staff just need to be present at a venue, but at least it’s something.

Christ, Ireland and Columbia have gay marriage, and Australia doesn’t. It’s been an absolute joke, at least in my eyes, for the last 20 years. This should have happened when The Netherlands did it. I was in the Netherlands. Guys holding hands on the street, kissing. No-one bats an eyelid. The gay venues still exist. Some choose to marry, some don’t. Life goes on. But the point is, they CAN.
I don’t remember Canada blowing up. Apparently their party opposition announced this week that they are no longer against same-sex marriage. LOL. Bit late, fellas.
I just WENT to a lesbian wedding. It was the damn CUTEST thing ever. I damn-near fucking cried during their vows to each other. Then the celebrant stated, “This is not a legally binding document, but this is a symbol of the love of these two for one another.”
It made me a little sad that that needed to be mentioned, because it’s the truth.
Noami said to me they will marry properly again when they are able to.

But this country is too bogan. Still. Living in the country, I’ve seen it first-hand.
People in Toowoomba will still yell out ‘FAGGOT!’ from a car window. It happens here in Brisbane too sometimes. Look at that fuckhead who shoved me at the train station on the Gold Coast that time. He was yelling out homophobic slurs before all that happened.
Then there was the absolute cunt (aren’t I nice with all these kind names LOL) with his mates who attempted the king-hit on me (and probably others) whilst I was casually walking past on Oxford street during Mardi Gras. And that was right in the middle of Sydney. If that isn’t blatant homophobic hatred right there, I don’t know what is.
it goes to show, it can happen anywhere, and there are still too many uneducated, hateful people around for my liking.

It’s only since living in a capital city that I realized there are other normal people that exist and not everyone is a complete and utter moron when it comes to this.

The plebiscite has been stated as “dangerous” by quite a few LGBT groups. It’s undermining. That’s what it is. Gay people, especially young gay people, look at this and think, “Wait, we need permission from the majority of Australia before we can marry someone we like?”

alt text

I shouldn’t worry, but I do. I care about people’s feelings. I hate people feeling hurt and I can not STAND homophobia. The minute I realize that someone is a homophobic person, I immediately and defensively become heterophobic toward that person. And how ironic that the squiggly red line came up under the word ‘heterophobic’. You can’t tell me that’s not a word.

People like my father will go in to cast their vote on the plebiscite with a very firm, religious, “FUCK NO THOSE FAGGOTS AREN’T GETTING MARRIED ON MY WATCH” vote. He, and many others like him, probably won’t say it in those words, but you can bet your bottom (teehee) dollar that others will.

Having said that, it does make me smile looking at the current opinion polls that have taken place on what Australia thinks about this issue. I think the current support percentage was last in the high 70%-range.
It does make me smile that despite those who oppose this, a majority now support it, and that now makes people like my father the minority.

However, if Labor gets into power again in parliament, the leader has promised full marriage equality legislation within the first 100 days in parliament.
I may not like other policies from the guy, but it sure as heck seems a lot more appealing than the other guy, who can’t even seem to form his own opinion without scratching the backs of everyone around him.

The best line from the bore-fest leader’s debate, which was on TV but I didn’t watch was apparently this,
Bill Shorten: “I generally lead my party, but in Mr. Turnbull’s case, your party generally leads you.”

I’d agree with that.

I’m still not sure if my usual standard Green’s vote will swing to Labor this time around. It just sucks we only ever hear about the two major parties when there are so many other minority ones, all because the major two use our taxes to fund their advertising.
I love that a former pop star/TV host is going up against Tony Abbott (which he has held since ‘94) in his electorate this time. I will laugh so hard if he gets beaten.

I guess we’ll know in just over a month’s time.

Go back for some less boring-ass political entries and pretty pictures lol.


Last updated May 30, 2016


colojojo May 31, 2016

It's hard to believe that hate violence against gay people is still a thing, most surprisingly (or maybe not?) among adults. Like... Really?? Just sad.

themoodyone May 31, 2016

No, Canada did not blow up, and our Conservative party are mostly a bunch of simpleton bogans. Have you seen this? It's quite something, and was later turned into a song.
Panti Bliss' Noble Call: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXayhUzWnl0
PSB song version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXhzNsozCIw

kmh. June 01, 2016

Which former pop star / TV host?

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ June 02, 2016

James Matheson - the ex-Channel V host

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.