Somerset Dam(n) in Adventures in paradise

  • May 30, 2016, 7:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did what I said I was going to do today. Drove out to Esk and Wivenhoe Dam, which turned into driving to Somerset Dam and it was dark by the time I got to Kilcoy.
alt text

Kilcoy was the town my parents would always stop in on the way to the Sunshine Coast for our family holidays once a year, so it had been well over a decade since I was last there.
I stopped in at the Esk bakery, because I remember as a kid how good their food was. I ordered a meat pie and a lamington. Can’t get more Aussie than that :D
Both were delicious!

I’d jumped back in the car and drove to find a park to eat everything in. I ended up coming across a bridge called “OShea’s Crossing” which had a park on the other side. As soon as I pulled in, a car that was in there took off haha.
So I was then alone.

The sign before the bridge

alt text

It was such a beautiful day. No wind at all and it had heated up enough to just sit there in my singlet.
alt text

A cute birdy joined me for some of my crumbs haha
alt text

It’s the exact type of bird that sometimes joins me whilst I’m eating outside at my work and had a shower in the hollowed branch of a tree last week. I think I like this bird because they are so friendly and not shy at all :)

alt text

alt text

It was absolutely lovely! I sat at one of the park benches, all alone in complete serenity. The only sounds were the sounds of birds in the distance and the ducks in the lake.

I was very lucky to witness a huge pelican doing a long sweep of the water, hunting for fish. It was so majestic! And I’d only juuuust managed to catch it, with not enough time to capture it on camera. I made a note to write about it, as that’s all I can do, and it’s what I’m doing :)

I thought my hire-car looked nice on the hill where I’d parked. Except the NSW plates!
alt text

The pelican eventually came back :) It was trying to eat some long-necked creature that kept popping out of the water, but it kept getting away by ducking back under.
alt text
I saw watching it chase them for a while, but pelicans actually scare me a little ever since I saw a video on the internet once where one ate a bird that was in the wrong place at the wrong time :( Luckily, this one was unsuccessful, but I figured they probably catch them when I’m not around.
I’m still confused as to what that long-necked creature was that kept it’s head above the water and then would disappear under for long periods of time. Was it a bird? Was it a fish? I even thought it was a snake at one point.

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

My selfies lately remind me of how bad I look and that I should make more of an effort with my appearance. How am I meant to get a husband looking like this? :P

alt text

I was there for quite some time because it was just so lovely sitting in the sun, watching the birds in complete silence. It reminded me of the country farm life I grew up with as a kid.

I eventually found a turn-off to Somerset Dam. My panorama was a bit over-done, and it didn’t match up haha.
alt text

This was a terrible Snapchat that I sent to Kylie lol
alt text

Somerset Dam is a bit low at the moment. Wivanhoe was much better, but I was driving and couldn’t get a good photo of it, or stop to on the road.
alt text

Found a bit of a lookout
alt text

I thought about just staying the night at a country motel, just for a bit of an oldschool-feel, but then thought that I was only 100km from home, so should probably just save my money and drive home, so I did that.

I stopped in at my old work for some groceries, since I was passing that way. I last worked there in 2006, and I found it hilarious that it hasn’t changed a single bit, other than the staff haha. That’s the store where I actually met Naomi (the one would got married a few entries back).

I was home by 8pm and I’m pretty tired. What a lovely, random day. Turns out I take the car back on Wednesday, so I’ll probably do another random drive tomorrow while I can. I can’t visit the parents because they are on another one of their caravan trips somewhere out west. I prefer doing my own thing anyway.


Last updated May 30, 2016


whowhatwhere May 30, 2016

Thanks for sharing!

colojojo May 31, 2016

Looks like such a nice evening! Nice little get away, sounds of nature. That always brings me zen.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.