Death must feel better than this in Vulnerability

  • April 1, 2016, 11:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Welp, I was right.
The fever’s well and truly set in now :(

This isn’t a suicidal entry. It’s an observation. I wouldn’t be in pain.

This happens every few years usually. I think I managed to avoid it last year with all the gymming, maybe.
Not this time.
I called in sick to work Friday and Saturday and it looks like probably tomorrow as well. It’s so annoying having to ring up each day. I should just be able to say ‘I feel like death, won’t be in for three days.’ I know from previous experience that it takes me almost a week to fuck this fever bug off.

I have no idea where I got it from or how. I’ve pretty much been stuck in my bed since Thursday night now :( And I’m feeling very sorry for myself :( Hating myself even. Even sitting up now to type this is a risk because I’m out from under the covers, but thankfully I haven’t started shivering.
I woke up around midday and I felt rather okay, I think because of the outside daytime temperature and the Aspro clear I took. During the day seems to be less harsh than at night-time, but now that’s it’s nearing 4pm, I’m getting worried again.

The worst part (besides the fever) is being stuck with my own thoughts for so long. I keep getting headaches and when I cough my head just pounds. Thankfully the cough part is very light.

I managed to leave the house for a bit today. It wasn’t easy. All my energy is drained so I was like a zombie shuffling my way up the hill to the street where all the chemists are. There’s three of them, and all of them were closed, because it’s Saturday :(
I had to go to the corner shop and just picked up a packet of Nurofen and Aspro Clear. Both say they felt reduce fever and I’m clutching at straws right now. So frustrated.

I had a conspiracy theory that it might have been from the dentist. The only thing is that I remember feeling a little iffy on Wednesday morning, before the appointment.
Then I think maybe my teeth have gone into shock from all the work done on them. I do keep reading that each tooth corresponds to a different part of the body, and I’m inclined to believe it. It’d explain a bit.

Vish has been very nice. He said he’s coming over after work tonight to bring me some bananas and some dry biscuits (at my request). I need to eat something that isn’t too rough on the tummy.
Last time this happened, Vish and his boyfriend had to rush me to the hospital so I could get hooked up to a drip.
I’m seriously considering that. I know that drip is a lifesaver and I feel a million times better afterward.
I just feel horrible going to the hospital with a fever when other people go there with much worse emergency conditions and I don’t wanna take up one of the beds.
I’d be happy to sit in a chair and have the drip hooked up!
I actually think I’ve somehow sprained my left pointer finger too, as it throbs whenever I use it.
I’m getting a headache again so time to lay down. It’s all I can do.

Sorry for the whinging. I need to write in case I die and I can thank you for reading me over the years.


wintergrey April 02, 2016

Hope you are feeling better soon!

whowhatwhere April 02, 2016

You poor thing!
makes a nice big batch of homemade chicken noodle soup
Here ya go, that stuff works miracles!

KissOfLife! whowhatwhere ⋅ April 02, 2016

I actually just had some of that but I only had the canned variety. I need the fresh stuff!

Rerrin April 02, 2016

If you need a drip, I think you need to be there! They wouldn't give you one if you didn't need it. Stephen's currently in hospital and has been since Thursday. They're not fun! Hope you feel better soon xx

KissOfLife! Rerrin ⋅ April 02, 2016

Oh no! Does he have a fever as well?

Rerrin KissOfLife! ⋅ April 02, 2016

No, he had an abscess on his tailbone and had surgery on Friday. Poor thing is in a lot of pain! Are you feeling better? xx

KissOfLife! Rerrin ⋅ April 03, 2016

Aww no poor fella!

No not really haha. I mean I can move today at least but I'd like to be completely healthy again and out of bed thanks :/

crunchie April 02, 2016

Hope the fever passes soon :(

kmh. April 03, 2016

Oh Matt :( No good! I hope you're feeling heaps better very quickly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.