Offer (Revised) in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

Revised: 03/22/2016 4:41 a.m.

  • March 22, 2016, 1:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just got a job offer. No money discussed quite yet… but the suggestion was 60.
Problem is… it is in the Tiny Town. Tiny Town Only. So… decent money, experience, but a “crazy” boss that doesn’t want to train, and a town so devoid of entertainment options that Wife may go thoroughly insane. But… a job. That’s quality!

NEW MATERIAL

Thank you all for the congratulations. You all, more than most, know what I’ve been thinking and feeling during all of this. This whole event has certainly shown some… interesting sides to things. And this is where the emotional content of the above is.

My wife came home this morning from a dentist appointment. Spent thirty minutes talking about the numbness in her face. I got a call, answered it, and by the end of it I had a tentative job offer. I told my wife of the job offer… and she responded by going right back to talking about the Dentist Appointment. No shared excitement, no discussion as to the details… just right back to her numb face and scheduling her next appointment on Thursday. So… instead of getting caught up in a rush of excitement that I had finally gotten an offer… I was given time to consider all of the issues. The size of the town, the relative insanity of the acting County Attorney, the time table for it all. Filled with those thoughts, is when I announced on Prosebox. Then I called my mother. She was very excited and her first instinct was (1) to know that Wife wouldn’t be sharing in the excitement; and (2) to try to figure out a way for the situation to be better for Wife. Then I texted my father… a man who has long been worried about my job prospects. His response: ”Is this the County Attorney who is retiring shortly and has no time to train anyone? If so, do you really want to jump in the fire from the fry pan in the middle of no where? Think carefully and without panic.” It IS that lady and the careful w/o panic is good advice. But… this is the world I live in. My first job offer ever (in this line of work)… I’m worried about the town (Coming Soon: 13 Hours! Seriously… the County Webpage advertises the NEW movie coming to their one theater… and that’s it. A movie that was released nationally on January 15)… I have a lot of apprehension and concern but I am trying to think “It doesn’t have to be forever. It is experience. I should view this as a positive!” Meanwhile, my wife can’t see beyond herself to even have a modicum of joy for me and my father is (rightly) worried that the negatives will outweigh the positives.

Which is why… I’m not throwing a big celebratory party right now. Because my fears and worries are being fanned by my dad. Because my mom is happy for me but realistic about other concerns. And Wife was consumed by “No, listen to MY news!” and is now wrapping herself in a blanket of denial and reality rejecting because she’s worried about (1) housing, (2) her situation, (3) our life… she is now entering the “Consumed By Fear” stage.


Last updated March 22, 2016


Waiting For Sunrise March 22, 2016

I agree with the above! Sadly, life is rarely about the perfect opportunity falling into your lap at the perfect time... but this could be a great stepping stone! Congratulations! :)

patrisha March 22, 2016

TThis could be a good start for better things...

Pinkerton March 22, 2016

I agree with the above comments. This job doesnt have to be a long term thing. It seems like your issues finding work have been due to your lack of experience. This solves that problem. So, yeah, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

Foofah March 22, 2016

Congratulations!
This is a stepping stone to get you to your ideal job! All of the jobs you've wanted, have stated your "lack of experience'. This gets you closer to having that experience they are looking for, as well as gets you out of Omaha, and gets your wife out of that Wal-Mart. Think of all of the positives compared to the negatives.

Deleted user March 22, 2016

Yes!!! Congrats!!!

stargazing March 22, 2016

It's never a good idea to make a decision based solely on fear. Is it the perfect opportunity? No. But it is an opportunity, and one you would gain experience.…that thing you've complained that everyone wants before giving you a job. It gives you some breathing room. As someone pointed out, your wife won't have to work at a job she hates. Obviously, you have to do what you feel is best. I'm sorry your wife couldn't be bothered to comment on the fact that you had a job offer. :(

Foofah March 22, 2016

The county attorney doesn't want to train....didn't the law library do the same thing? You put up with so much crap in that position and you're so knowledgeable...I doubt you'll need a whole lot of training anyways. Plus, that is a GREAT spin on future job prospects...a few years in this position will give you the experience that other 'ideal' jobs are asking for, plus you can state you trained yourself!

I am sorry your wife didn't seem excited. This job hunt has been such an uphill battle for you, that even if you decide to not take the position, the fact that your were given an offer should be celebrated!

Rhapsody in Purple March 22, 2016

It does have a few issues, but it could be a good place to get that experience that all those other places wanted you to have. I think i remember you writing about how a few places said you interviewed well but the lack of experience ended up being the deciding factor. The lack of training is definitely an issue. Are you able to ask for a mentor or something as part of the deal, just so you have someone to talk to about things as they arise. I know at the place i used to work, they employed someone straight out of uni, but the did give her a mentor that she spoke to every week to help her get a handle on things. I'm sure there are people in the field that might like to do something like that.
Maybe your wife could do some online study in a area she's interested in. And i think that once you move there, you'll find things happening within the community that you can do.
Good luck with your decision

QueSeraSera March 22, 2016

Awe congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 60K this is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

QueSeraSera March 22, 2016

How close is the nearest town? Perhaps this person in the position IF they have no time to train they can write down briefs? Will you have supporting staff?
Maybe it might be good for practice in this town to move onto something else.
Are there good benefits? Happy for you!

Always Laughing March 22, 2016

Congrats I live 30 minutes from the closest movie theater and survive just fine. I think it is an opportunity to seriously consider.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.