I Can't Remember What Hashtags Do Here in I Can't Believe It's Not Twitter™... Spray!

  • Feb. 8, 2016, 9:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(So I wrote them out in longhand.)

-

Boss [whenever asked about plans, scheduling, etc.] “Let me rub my magic lamp…”
Me [in my head]: “That’s NOT how magic lamps WORK!…“

-

If most people’s ideas are represented by a lightbulb over their head, mine are represented by a turn signal. Or possibly hazard lights.

-

Scientists have determined that everyone seems to die no matter what they recommend, so like, do whatever, they’re not the boss of you.

-

“You’ve really gotta hand it to him.” [hashtag]JugglerInsults

-

[hashtag]RuinAnOldSaying “If at first you don’t succeed, then you’re part of the problem.”

-

Just once I want to see an ad for “Door Buster Deals” that are just affordable large logs with iron handles.

-

Dear charities: for maximum show of good stewardship, maybe don’t mail donation requests on high-quality stock with gold emboss letterhead.

-

You can’t spell “significant event” without “I can’t even.”

-

Vending machines don’t kill people, people who don’t understand physics kill people.

-

Suggestion for gas stations: a little tray with a sign that reads “Have A USB Cord? Give A USB Cord. Need A USB Cord? Take A USB Cord.”

-

If I read the phrase “semantic satiation” long enough, it starts to look like gibberish.

-

Dear websites, services, and apps: I am never giving you my phone number, so please just stop asking for it.

-

Y’know, for a race of beings who are supposedly masters of time and space, Time Lords sure do suck at recognizing self-fulfilling prophecy.

-

“Godzilla: Resurgence” sounds like an energy drink.

-

There’s nothing like the twinkle in the eye of a small child who learns there’s a dog called a Shih Tzu, and that they’re allowed to say it.

-

Whenever someone says “There’s literally no reason to [whatever],” I reply, “Well, there literally are reasons. Just not good ones.”

-

Most Internet complaints, when boiled down to their essence, can be summarized as, “There are too many people not like me on the Internet.”

-

UnnecessarySayings: “Wish me luck.” So, not only are you hoping for random chance but you want it to hinge on my wish-fulfillment abilities?

-

Infinitives are like Applebees entrees: you might get away with splitting one, but if you make a habit of it, someone’s gonna say something.

-

Somewhere in a quiet alley, a regional dairy distributor is handing over a briefcase of money to a local weather forecaster.

-

I’ve been chosen as a potential candidate for in the upcoming edition of the National Register’s “Women of Distinction” for 2016. o_O

-

[hashtag]EulogyDosAndDonts There’s a time and a place for T-shirt guns.

[hashtag]EulogyDosAndDonts Your final words shouldn’t be “If you liked this eulogy, please consider supporting my Kickstarter at eulogizer dot com.”

-

One thing I like about brick-and-mortar stores is if I decide not to buy something, they don’t email me asking why not. [hashtag]ImLookinAtYouNewEgg

-

Dear Whoever It Is That Makes The Looping Silent Videos Out Of Animated GIFs of Short Videos: Please stop.

-

Last week I discovered two things happen when I drastically reduce my caffeine intake:
1. I feel less anxious
2. I make WAY more mistakes.

-

[hashtag]WordsThatDontDescribeHillary Mesolithic, jewel-encrusted, ermine-like, grape-flavored, Thor-shaped, translucent and World’s Greatest Uncle.

-

Me: “I’m going to eat healthier in 2016!”
McDonald’s: “McDouble and a small fry, only two bucks.”
Me: “I’m going to eat healthier in 2017!”

-

Hey there, video that starts with “Make Sure Your Sound Is Turned On.” You do realize I’m now morally obligated to watch you muted, right?

-

When working on a PC, be sure to ground yourself. I just take a deep breath and say “Okay, I can do this. I’ve done it before. No big deal.”

-

“Oh, I’m a very good man, just… a very bad wizard.” - Oz sums up the problem of occupational rationalization and moral relativism.

-

Some time I would like to see an art critic fill out one of those “How Many Things Can You Find Wrong With This Picture?” puzzles.

-

::long uncomfortable silence::
Me: “Okay, can I just say, that is the nicest, most well-behaved room elephant I’ve ever seen?”

-

Your eyes say “yes” but your mouth says “Dude. Stop it. My eyes don’t talk. You need to listen to what comes out of my mouth, okay? Thanks.”

-

A slightly lesser known test than the Gob Jabbar, the Gah Jabbar was just a dark box filled with cold pasta and peeled grapes.

-

The thing I hate most about “horror” is trying to pronounce the word clearly enough so that people know what I’m not saying.

-

[hashtag]BetterWaysToElectPOTUS Inject candidates with sodium pentathol and ask them pointed questions about their reasons for running.

-

‘’I made this puppymonkeybaby monster to please you… but I get the feeling that you don’t like it, what’s with all the screaming?” [hashtag]JoCo

-

One problem I have with modern technology is how now being unreachable is considered rude, when it used to be 50% or more of your existence.

-

It may be a rather short-lived diet plan, but the “I Have A Cold So Eating Holds No Enjoyment Whatsoever” diet is effective while it lasts.


Last updated February 10, 2016


Krud February 08, 2016

I can't figure out why the one bit is huge near the end.

simple mind Krud ⋅ February 08, 2016

That's actually what hashtags do (if you begin your paragraph with one, you'll get an H1 heading - it's a Markdown thing).

Krud simple mind ⋅ February 08, 2016

I didn't have a hashtag in it, is the weird part. Just a quotation mark.

simple mind Krud ⋅ February 08, 2016

Oh, I bet I know what it is - another way to create headings is with dashes directly below the paragraph. Notice how your dash divider isn't showing, probably needs a blank line added above it.

Krud simple mind ⋅ February 09, 2016

Ah, okay, thanks!

ElvenAssassin February 08, 2016

I actually saw some of these in twitter which is a fear since I haven't been in ages!

Aaaand my dad would make the magic lamp comment, too.

Krud ElvenAssassin ⋅ February 10, 2016

Some of them you also might have seen on FB.

ElvenAssassin Krud ⋅ February 10, 2016

*feat, ugh.

Good point about Facebook, too.

Krud ElvenAssassin ⋅ February 17, 2016

Y'know, fear made sense. I'd be afraid if I had read something from a place I hadn't been to in ages.

Jigger February 08, 2016

I have never been able to make peace with your boss. Never.

Still love these round-ups, though.

Firebabe February 09, 2016

"A slightly lesser known test than the Gob Jabbar, the Gah Jabbar was just a dark box filled with cold pasta and peeled grapes."

I literally brayed laughter when I read this. BRAYED. I'm still giggling, five minutes later.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.