I'm a bad patient in Procrastination Journal

  • Feb. 2, 2016, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thursday I went to the doctor to get prescribed omeprazole

No that’s not right

I went to get evaluated for reflux. I’ve had some of it since I was a kid. Like, I remember being in the Stoneridge movie theaters and we were walking out and all of a sudden my throat is burning, and the water fountain doesn’t help.

My aunt said I’ve had it since I was a baby but come on:
1. All babies have some reflux
2. I had the colic okay

Anyway I would just love for food to no longer feel like it’s in my esophagus after I’ve finished eating, you know?

I’ve tried the whole upright precautions, they don’t help much but of course lying down is worse. I’d been self-treating with zantac (and oh so many tums) because I felt like, okay GERD is easy I’ll try an h2 blocker. But I only sometimes get burning, it’s mostly a feeling of food going to slowly or going the wrong way. Idk how an antacid could help with a sort of mechanical problem? Not that I want a nissen or anything.

But anyway of course she asks if I drink any caffeine, and since coffee makes me have to go to the bathroom STAT, I said no, not regularly.

But here I am at 6:40 pm and this is the second day in a row that I’ve had evening coffee, and I’m going to take my omeprazole with it, too.

Thursday I’m supposed to be doing a swallow/reflux study, hopefully it will show something but like, not something super bad.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.