Recover in 2016

  • Jan. 26, 2016, 12:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m finally basically better after being sick for two weeks. I returned to the gym last night, felt amazing to be working out again. I slept a lot last night and this morning. I had intended to go out driving last night, but Ella uncharacteristically smoked a tiny amount of pot(she generally never smokes), and simply being in the house in it got me high, I shit you not. I would not shit you, Proseboxers. My tolerance is just that low, I am a pansy. I just felt hungry and my eyes burned and I was coughing a bunch and I just had to chill. Whenever I think of being high, I think of the party scene from the Tim and Eric movie.

Warning, definitely NSFW. And it’s completely insane, and there’s a fake penis. None of you should probably watch it. I am quite the fan of their humor.

We went to see The Book of Mormon on Wednesday. It was really good and really funny. I’ve seen all of two musicals in my life, so I’m no authority on them but I thought it was well done. It’s written by the dudes who created South Park. It’s about these two missionaries of the Mormon Church that end up in Uganda. One is upset that he didn’t get sent to Orlando and the other is a pathological liar, and it just kinda goes from there…it’s really ridiculous. Clearly approved by the church, since there were no less than three full page ads for the actual Book of Mormon in the program, despite the jabs at the religion and a surprising amount of cussing in the play.

I managed to fix my phone. I backed up everything, which took forever, so many lyrics or scraps of lyrics on there. I reformatted it and downloaded the newest system update/operating system, which I for some reason didn’t have before. It’s like a brand new phone. Everything looks different, it’s snappy and quick and my texts are arriving on time. 10/10.

Instead of getting a different job, I’ve decided I’m going to go back to school full-time for Computer Science. I think coding would be fun, I’ve thought that for a while. The concept of sitting at a desk, listening to music all day and minimally interacting with other people sounds fucking awesome at this point. All I do now is deal with people all day, and I never get to sit at my desk, because I’m always out on the donor floor dealing with people. Not sure if I will quit outright or stick around as a phlebotomist a couple days a week. Hah, stick around, phlebotomist. Because that’s a real word, even if spellchecker doesn’t acknowledge it. You know, the people who put needles in people. Anyway. Going to talk to my boss about it tomorrow. I’m sure she will be un-thrilled, as we are hemorrhaging staff, but it is what it is.

Hung out with jewelry girl last night, that was nice. Tinder coffee date was supposed to be today but she didn’t show up. Not even mad, she said yesterday she had the stomach flu the day before, so I was certainly not expecting her to show up. She responded to my text an hour later and said she had just woken up and was super apologetic. Hopefully Wednesday will be a thing, third time’s the charm right? I have quite a few matches on Tinder at this point, so I guess I should start messaging ladies and trying to set things up. Nothing new on the Courtney front really, just hopelessly falling for her as per usual. She is super sick now and seems to have gotten what I just had, possibly from some yakisoba that I made and gave her some of. Whoops LOL. I asked her if she wanted soup or something and she said she wanted mozzarella sticks and garlic bread. Cheese and carbs. Completely ridiculous, but I am going to try making those and will take her some tomorrow if it turns out. I have a deep fryer but haven’t used it yet, so it seems like a good time to try. Not going to make make the garlic bread, just going to add a shitton of cheese to an existing loaf and bake it. We were joking about deep frying the garlic bread, so I may actually try to do that with some of it, just to see what happens. I will call all the bluffs in the name of insanity.

Thought I was having some car trouble, since my oil change light came on 750 miles after my last change. Went in to my usual place and I guess the light just does that sometimes, especially if it wasn’t on when I got my oil changed last time, which it wasn’t. So they reset it and that was it, didn’t have to pay anything. It’s so nice to have found a place that actually has integrity and doesn’t take advantage of people woefully unfamiliar with cars such as myself. I spent a fair amount of time obsessively cleaning my car earlier today. I cleaned and vacuumed the interior and then noticed how much dirt and grime was in the door hinges. Makes sense, they don’t get hit when you go through a car wash and it’s easy to forget about those areas, so they never get clean unless you make an effort to do it. Spent at least half an hour on it and went through many cleaning wipes but it looks way better. Seems like a good idea if I start picking people up for rides during daylight hours, which I may try. It would be nice to be on a normal sleep schedule and not try to balance being up until 3 or 4 am and then working some days at 7 am.


jenncanfly January 27, 2016

Wouldn't deep frying garlic bread just make it a giant crouton?
Going back to school is always fun. I'm here and I love it! Haha. I can't wait to get my degree and do stuff.
I should actually probably be doing homework.

Medisinn jenncanfly ⋅ January 29, 2016

Whoa. You're absolutely right. I didn't actually end up trying it, wouldn't have had enough oil to dunk it all. Next time, Gadget. God, I hate homework, but I'm almost kind of looking forward to it at this point.

jenncanfly Medisinn ⋅ January 29, 2016

Homework is no fun at all but school is lol

ViscousNightshade January 27, 2016

"The concept of sitting at a desk, listening to music all day and minimally interacting with other people sounds fucking awesome at this point. "

It is awesome. Too bad at my old job everyone was too much of a prick even when I didn't want to talk to them.

I'm glad you're feeling better. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.