Gone in 2016

  • Jan. 13, 2016, 6:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m still really sick. I struggled through work without letting on. I’m doing my best to keep up appearances. A couple people asked me if I was okay, I lied of course. Although, that will be harder to do tomorrow…

…I just found out one of my best friends and her boyfriend died in a car accident. I don’t know when or the details, I can only assume it was earlier today. I found a couple texts about it when I woke up from a nap, and going onto Facebook for the first time in a few days confirmed it.

I don’t know what to think. I can’t, really, beyond having enough thought to type this. I met Cass a little over four years ago. We dated for a month or so, lost touch, and then she became a big part of my group of friends when we reconnected a year later. We had a falling out at one point, but then patched things up and were close since. I didn’t keep in touch as much as I would like, but I hung out with her every time I visited.

My last memories of her are playing Geek Battle with a couple other people and staying up late talking early New Year’s Day after the party. She was fired up about a few things. I couldn’t fully agree, but I always respected that intensity. She was confident she was moving on to better things, and I believed her.

…I’m not good at dealing with death. I just don’t do it, I don’t know how. The last death I encountered was my grandpa five years ago, and I honestly still haven’t processed it. After I moved from Michigan, several relatives died, as well as the wife of one of my best friends. Back then I was trying not to feel at all, so I never went through the normal stages of grief, if I went through any of them at all. I don’t feel sad or anything about Cass yet, just…hollow. Empty. I wish I could go back to sleep and wake up and have things be back to normal. How is this real and not some cruel dream? If anyone deserved to have a happy ending after struggling for so long and overcoming so much, it was her.

I just…can’t. Ugh.


Beyond_Rhythm January 13, 2016

So sorry:( I lost a best friend in a car accident a few years ago, and there is that time where it just settles into your soul like a gaseous poison, and you feel empty of everything else. There's no right way or easy way to deal with these kinds of things. My heart goes out to you.

Medisinn Beyond_Rhythm ⋅ January 16, 2016

Thank you. I guess most people have probably dealt with something like this at some point in their lives, it's unfortunately a common way for people to pass these days. You're right, everyone does seem to deal with it in a different way.

ViscousNightshade January 14, 2016

I'm so sorry. :(

Medisinn ViscousNightshade ⋅ January 16, 2016

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.