Feeling down in Torridaussity Two

  • Jan. 8, 2016, 4:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things with my church really have me down. The new pastor continues to change things left and right. Some changes I understand and agree with others, she is just doing to make it perfect in her eyes. She feels this is now her church and no one else matters. She fired the secretary without telling our council, she actually called one of our members weird to their face and this is a member who already has a lot of anxiety and fears about being accepted and basically said she really didn’t belong in our congregation. She is taking away the things that make our church great just so everything can be perfect in her eyes. It used to feel like my church was a second family and she is slowly taking that away and pulling the wool over peoples’ eyes. As more people are hearing things though I can only hope that the right people who have the power to do something about her do it.

Being the music director and a paid employee(which I depend on the money)I am walking a fine line with her, basically pretending that I like her and think she is funny when inside I cringe at her comments and critiques of things at our small town church. She has said on so many different occasions if someone doesn’t agree they are going to hell and laughs hahaha well I don’t joke about that in church especially when I feel like she isn’t kidding if it isn’t her way everyone is wrong and going to hell. I am not writing this to open up debate on religion in general and why it is bad or good or what not so please don’t start a debate…comments are fine though. I know that all organized religions have their issues I am not a blind follower. I am considered pretty liberal in my beliefs because I still call myself a Christian and accept homosexuals and the fact that they should be married. I am partially pro-life I say partially because I only believe abortion should be used in case of rape, incest, or the mother’s health is threatened, I don’t believe it should be used as a form of birth control…again this is my opinion not asking for debate on this either, but even that is liberal for a lot of Christians. If I didn’t depend on the extra income, I would probably resign not because I don’t like it, I love being the music director I don’t want to work with this new pastor who I feel is somewhat a sheep in wolf’s clothing. A pastor would never insult a congregation member and say they are not welcome, a pastor doesn’t change traditions that are over a 100 years old just because they aren’t what she likes, a pastor should be bringing people into the church and not pushing them out. I feel very sad because the more I hear about what she is doing and saying the more worried I am that what I once loved with no longer exist. I could really use a hug.


Small Town Girl January 08, 2016

So sad to hear this! How can she just fire the secretary with out the council! That should be a huge RED FLAG to the members! And to say something so mean to a congregation member?! Wow. Sounds like your council needs to start being more aware and active in what she is doing! Ad council should have more say than her. How long has she been with your church? How does your church operate in the process of getting a new pastor? Do you have the power to fire her yourselves, or do you have to go to the district conference? A bishop even? My moms church is Methodist and they have to go through the district first, and the bishop has the final say. So in her case it has taken a LONG time to get the pastor they have now. Years actually. And a lot of people aren't liking him either. It would probably take years to remove him and try another pastor since Im sure the district and Bishop would want to give him a chance. Just curious how stuck you are with this lady. How is she in regards to her sermons? Is she true to the word? Or is she one of these pastors who loosely follows the Bible and twists things?

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ January 08, 2016

We just hired her in October. We can fire her. The council is now being made aware of these things, some knew who are her supporters. People are going to be shocked that she fired the secretary. As for her sermons they are bible based, but she is from Germany and has only been in the states for 10 years and her accent is pretty thick. I studied German and speak German so I have no problems understanding her, but some people do. I sometimes think her lack of fully comprehending the English language especially slang makes her wording and phrasing more harsh than she means it to be. She and I had issues when she first came here as well, but we have managed to squash them mainly because I am not a pushover. It only took us a few months to get her and we had other options. I am Lutheran.

Small Town Girl Always Laughing ⋅ January 08, 2016

Oh Good. So hopefully you wont be stuck with her if it ends up with her needing to go.

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ January 09, 2016

I hope so, I am sure they will talk to her and make her aware that these things aren't tolerated, but to be honest sometimes I think my church is more worried about not having a pastor than making the ones we have do their job the way they are supposed to. Our last one lasted 10 years even though he wasn't the best. He was different though he wasn't mean, he just didn't do everything as well as he should have.

Small Town Girl Always Laughing ⋅ January 09, 2016

I told my mom about this and she said your council definitely needs to tell her that they make the decisions in the church and not her.

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ January 09, 2016

apparently with this decision it is in the constitution that she can fire the secretary I don't know for sure, but we just had a new constitution made and the old one I know she didn't have the power. I just wish she wouldn't have turned out this way. It seems as if she was too faced during the interviewing and meet and greet process.

Small Town Girl Always Laughing ⋅ January 09, 2016

So sad!

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ January 09, 2016

yes well we weathered through 10 years of a less than adequate pastor we shall weather this one too and I don't think it will be 10 years for this one.

Small Town Girl Always Laughing ⋅ January 09, 2016

True. Just have to keep praying things work out the way they are meant to!

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ January 09, 2016

exactly

Shattered January 08, 2016

~BIIIIIG HUGS FULL OF LOVE~

Always Laughing Shattered ⋅ January 08, 2016

thank you :-)

Cricket January 09, 2016

Ugh that's awful!

hugs

Always Laughing Cricket ⋅ January 09, 2016

thanks

Deleted user January 09, 2016

Hope she realizes without a congregation there is no church, which means she's out of a job!

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ January 09, 2016

Amen

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.