Trouble in 2016

  • Jan. 4, 2016, 2:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m getting back to business. I worked out last night(it’s still Sunday night to me, dammit!) after getting back from Medford and then also this morning. Getting up really early sucks, but this is the lifestyle I need to recommit to if I want to get in shape. Definitely a little surprised to open my apartment door and see snow, which is very unusual for Portland. I bought a bunch of breakfasty frozen sandwiches and stuff, plus protein bars and drinks the night before. The frozen stuff is not ideal, but I need food before a morning workout and a frozen english muffin sandwich is better than whatever else I might eat instead. I cooked food for after the workout and made enough to take the rest for lunch. Getting back on track.

I ordered tickets for a Metric concert in February for Ella, Courtney and myself. Should be lots of fun, I’ve been listening to them and they’re really good. Courtney seemed pretty stoked, though that was mitigated by her getting into a minor car accident on the way to work. She didn’t seem too banged up but had anxiety and stress due to it happening in the past. She didn’t bring food so I went and got her Panda Express and Dutch Bros. on my lunch break(and myself as well, treat yoself!). I had difficulties myself, the road to work was clear enough but the less-traveled areas had largely turned to ice by that point. She didn’t want to drive home and her husband was still travelling back from the airport, so she tagged along with me to the gym. We worked out and then chatted in my car until he arrived to pick her up. She is unlike anyone else I’ve met. There’s a lot of flirting and tension but it’s innocent enough. I’ll enjoy it for what it is and keep looking for new people to date. Her and Ella are really the only people I’m close to up here. I’ve been writing songs again, largely due to being around her.

I had planned on doing Lyft driving tonight but with all the snow and ice it’s not a good idea. I caught up on wrestling so now it’s time to play some bass. Tomorrow is my first day of Japanese class, assuming that school hasn’t been cancelled. I can start going to wrestling on Wednesday now that my schedule has been changed. I want to, though I feel like I should wait a week, I got my ass kicked right away with the training in the past and I’ve gotten a bit out of shape again.

I feel more certain about things. Resolutions are just excuses, there’s no need to wait until the new year starts to reinvent yourself. It’s just how things have worked out this time with me. There’s a lot of hard work ahead and not a lot of results in the meantime, but this is it. There’s nothing to lose at this point. I’m single, I have the time and the money to pursue the things I want to. I’m getting older and my body is struggling a bit but it’s up to me to push through and achieve my desires. This year will be different than the ones before.


Mercurial Muse January 04, 2016

I don't like the frozen stuff either. Have you considered just frying up an egg in the morning? It doesn't take long to do it fresh, stick some ham on there, a few raw leaves of spinach and you have a breakfast sandhich fresh in about 8 minutes.

Medisinn Mercurial Muse ⋅ January 04, 2016

That's a good idea. I did the egg route for a bit but got lazy. Plus there are no carbs that way and tons of protein. Thanks for the suggestion.

Mercurial Muse Medisinn ⋅ January 04, 2016

Stick it all on an english muffin. I forgot to add that part ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.