December 18th through 22nd in 2015

  • Dec. 21, 2015, 9:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, the weekend came and went, like so many a terrible boyfriend, and I’ve stories to tell of it, like many a terrible girlfriend.
Friday evidently happened as I have distinct memories of Saturday and Sunday. Yet just what happened on Friday eludes me. Allow me to consult my schedule. Huh. It doesn’t say. I have no idea. I think I taught at an elementary school, though which one escapes me. Possibly I taught at Miyachu? I don’t think so, though. But I digress.
Consulting the above entry, it seems that I actually posted about this on Friday. I had thought that I’d posted on Thursday. So, yeah. Way to go me. On to the weekend!
On Saturday, I got up way too early, as it turns out, to prep for the mocha making at Miyachu (I don’t know whether or not it has one u or two and I’m a bit lazy in re looking it up, so please forgive any inconsistencies in spelling). I’d wanted to make mochi since I first saw the material for making it (or possibly saw it being done) at some point with Reagan Sensei during my time at JCMU. He assured me that I didn’t. Well, he was wrong. I’m sure it would get tedious, and I know it’d get tiring, if one did it all day every day, but, as a pleasant diversion, it’s hard to beat. For the uninformed, mocha is a traditional Japanese sweet whose base is pounded rice. I suppose that doesn’t sound terribly appetizing, but it’s really interesting. You start with a mortar full of rice, then take a big wooden axe shaped pestle and just beat the stuff until the individual grains of rice cease to be and all you have is a giant glutinous mass. So, after watching several rounds (my friend the monk was there, which means his daughter is a 3rd year (which means that I won’t see him as much next year)), Sam and I were pulled in. We astounded everybody by how hard we pounded, how accurately we hit, and our ability to keep time and pace with the crowd who kept chanting to make us go faster and faster and faster and faster. It was incredibly fun, and it’s nice to wow the kids from time to time. I want them to know it’s not just fat that makes me so large. There is also the remnant of muscle tenaciously clinging to these bones.
We finished in relatively good time, and ate a bit of the mochi (I prefer the red bean desert mocha to its soy sauce covered breakfast appropriate cousin), and then dashed off to Tsuruda for the Christmas show.
The Christmas show, because I don’t know what else to call it, was held in the little Tsuruda community center, which is about the same size (a bit smaller and a bit cleaner) than the Satsuma center in Miyanojo. Sam and I got there after a 7-11 run wherein I bought a bunch of scratchy/sour lemon candies, cough drops, and lemon water (because it’s a performance, and one needs all of these things, or, at least the latter two). When we arrived, we debated as to whether it was likely to be upstairs or downstairs. Then we wondered what we’d do when we found the place. After a debate that took way too long (probably thirty seconds to a minute, but it FELT long) we made our way upstairs and found a nice little whiteboard attached to the door telling us to go in and wait, which was a wonderful touch. I love Japanese thoroughness. I need to learn to use a bit of it. Between community theater and China, I am overly comfortable doing everything in a “just wing it”, fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants-ish, kind of way. Anyway, we got there, and there were Santa suits for Sam and me, though only one beard. Which I got. I loved the way that everybody know I was going to be Santa, and everybody know it was because I was white, but nobody brought it up. I mean, there are about a million other reasons why it makes more sense for me to be Santa, but . . . Sam could have had twice my qualifications and I’d still have been the one they asked. Because I look like him. Fat white guy. Anyway, that was annoying, but I digress. Again. As is my custom, habit, and hobby. So, also back there was one of the government office guys who drew the short straw and had to play our town mascot, Satsumaru-chan. I hope, I sincerely hope, that at some point I get to play him. We also found out that about twenty of the workers share that dubious honor (evidently nobody wants it). Well, (here ends the 21st)
(from the 22nd)
Well, anyway, it was super fun and wonderful. Funderful, if you will. When it was finally time for us to go, we went out and the kids were amazed. Two of my students from Kukino were there, Mai and Tomoe. I wish Tsugumi had also been there. Anyway, they were surprised to figure out that I was Santa. It took them a minute, despite the fact that there are (evidently) two white people in town (Sam says there’s another one, and that would explain the one I saw once, but I’ve never met him), it took them a while to figure out that this one was me. Even though I was carrying a ukulele. Anyway, I read them The Very Hungry Caterpillar in English, and roughly translated it. Sam then read Bill the Cat in Japanese and I played ukulele for the song bits. Then, we sang through Jingle Bells (in English, encouraging the kids to sing in Japanese) and then we gave out presents. It was amazing and wonderful. After that, there was the tsukareta tea. Tsukareta . . . um . . . sort of an after party? But it’s a celebration of how tired you all are? But . . . I can’t really translate it. Tsukareru is “to become tired”, and, at the end of a work day, everybody tells you, “Otsukare sama”. So . . . extrapolate. Anyway, tea, and snacks, and good times. I dominated conversation and just felt confident and GOOD. The library ladies were there, and I love them. I don’t know if I mentioned the amazing stuff I saw them do. Allow me to explain in case I hadn’t before.
The Library Lady Interlude:
A Kukino-sho adventure.
:wavy lines and whole tone harp scales:
At Kukino, a while ago, I saw in the library and watched the library ladies from various libraries in the town give a presentation for the three girls who attend that school. One involved the story of a girl who got a dress, and as it got older, she kept altering it to make it smaller and smaller objects. This was all done by folding a piece of paper. As you folded it, you got different pictures. It went from a big dress to a small dress to a hat to . . . everything. Finally, it finished as a pincushion. So cool. Another did “Apron Theater”. Does this exist in the US? It’s kind of like the old Sunday school felt board stuff . . . but it’s on an apron, and you move stuff on your stomach, and you put things in and out of the apron pockets, and fold thing, and reveal things . . . it’s just awesome. I love it. There was something else too, but I forget it.
Here ends A Kukino-sho adventure.
:wavy lines and whole tone harp scales:
Anyway, those ladies were there, and they were wonderful. I’ve begged to be allowed to do any library events.
As an aside, Japan is kind of making me want kids. And, if I had them, I’d want to raise them in Japan. It’s just so kid friendly here! I love that apron theater and paper folding is a thing! I love that kids have that beautiful, wide eyed, innocence that’s so beautiful in children. I love that elementary and middle schools have banned electronics. I love that the importance of childhood is so sacred here. It’s just . . . wonderful.
At any rate, after the tsukareta tea, we went home and I just kind of killed time and wound down the clock, if I remember. It was cold, and I didn’t feel like doing much.
Sunday was a nothing day, but a good nothing day. It was the kind of nothing day where you feel good because you need to do nothing sometimes. 90% enjoyment, only 10% guilt at not doing stuff I should do.
Monday was Yamasaki, as I believe that I may have mentioned. Yamaski is, of course, my favorite school. We began by having a school assembly about me, and thanking me. I wore a Santa hat, which mum sent to me, which was a major hit with the kids. After an introduction, and speeches, and signing, and students asking me preselected questions, it was time for games. I explained hot potato and red light green light (both of these games have Japanese version), and we had an amazing time. So cute! The students from 4th grade all made me adorable Christmas cards! And I was presented with two necklaces covered in origami from the whole school. I was on the verge of tears. I also got, in the teacher’s office, a kind of straw rope to put over my door. It’s a New Year’s thing.
I taught third through sixth grade yesterday, and lunch with the second graders. I hope I get the first graders at some point. The kids were just amazing and wonderful. I ended up staying ten minutes late, which was bad, because the 6th graders wanted to finish making Christmas cards. Which I didn’t receive. Sadly, the 5th graders had pressured their teacher into letting them make Christmas cards, but I mucked it up. I took so long on some pronunciation work (that they all enjoyed) that there wasn’t time. So, I talked about Christmas instead. Turns out, I’ve brought a lot of girls home for Christmas, and the kids kept laughing as I explained that they were seeing pictures of multiple ex-girlfriends. The fourth graders were shy, which was annoying, but we dealt with it. The third graders were the most amazing things ever. Other than the second graders. I love, I love, I ADORE being kidnapped by children. I love when I have a gaggle of elementary schoolers grabbing onto my arms and pulling me apart and pulling me along. I got dragged out onto the dodge ball field, I got pulled into pillars and windows. It was just so much fun! Man do I love these kids!
Anyway, time finished with the 6th graders, and I had to rush to Eikaiwa. I was late. I hate being late. I don’t like when I’m going to be late to Eikaiwa and Hirayama doesn’t tell me. It causes issues, especially as Monday was the Christmas party.
Well, I got there at quarter to 4 instead of three thirty, and the cake and snacks were waiting. So good! Candied fruit and various cakes. It was amazing. Add to this a fun prize lottery (which they rigged so that I’d win (I’m convinced)) you get the fun atmosphere. One of the ladies played a beautiful violin arrangement she’d made where she mixed a Tchaikovsky concerto with various Christmas songs. I then got to explain the idiom “a tough act to follow” before doing two Christmas songs on ukulele. A wonderful time was had by all. Then, as we left, Kazumi-san and Yuko-san invited me for dinner for the Emperor’s birthday. I told them I would have to let them know, and, sadly, it turns out I can’t. More on that presently.
I’d gotten a call during Eikaiwa, and I got another call as soon as I got back. It was the lady I was to be doing the children’s event for on the Emperor’s birthday (but I think it may be a Christmas party, maybe it’s both). She then came over and we went over what I’m to do, and what Sam is to do, and we practiced some stuff with books. So adorable! I had a great time consulting, and I really REALLY hope that they ask me to do more. I love being swarmed by adorable rug rats who all love me affectionately! Well, after that I had to let the Eikaiwa duo know that I was engaged for the Emperor’s birthday. Which is sad because I won’t see Yuko for another three months and she’s the one who got me my guitar teacher (need to practice today!), and I really want to hang out with Kazumi. Oh well. Shoganai. It’ll be fun to make new friends.
Also, along the lines of hanging out with Kazumi, she informed me that she thinks it’s best if I just buy a new car. Dammit. Dammit dammit dammit. Not what I need right now. So much for a fun week in Kagoshima city.
So, I’m stuck at Miyachu today, and, having graded two baskets of notebooks, appear to be done with the work of the day. Maybe they’ll send me home early? Doubtful. Still a boy can hope. Just got the most random craving ever for a Wendy’s Jr. Bacon Cheeseburger. Anyway, there’s not much going on. The day is passing unexpectedly quickly. Partly because a lot of fun people are online right now and are distracting me. I don’t know if I can bear another terrible school lunch. Looking at the menu, it actually seems tentatively promising. So, we’ll see. The scale said I’ve gained a bit of weight in the last week, but I think part of that may be the fact that I scarfed down most of my day’s calories in the two hours before I went to bed. That sentence marked an even 76k words. My mouth still tastes like garlic from the ramen last night. I may have gone over in calories yesterday, though it’s doubtful. I ate some food whose value I didn’t know, but even giving myself a very high estimate for ramen, I was still 700 under my goal yesterday. We’ll see. This weekend I was definitely over in calories, and I haven’t been as active as I should be. I wish I had been able to buy that treadmill, but, I don’t know if it really would have mattered.
So, yeah. Today’s pretty. The sun is out. Last night I tried to take pictures of the light displays in town, but it was difficult and I don’t know how it turned out. Today I need to do some proofreading for Chinese students, which I’m dreading. I just can’t wait for vacation. I’d better not b


nothispenelope December 21, 2015

when you said 'mocha' i was thinking coffee.

Amaryllis January 13, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.