and now.... three and a half MORE months pass by!!! in shiny things

  • Dec. 2, 2015, 2:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have no idea how that’s even possible, but I am making several determined attempts in several assorted areas of my life to Improve My Lazy Annoying Self, and doing more writing is one of them. At this point, “more” would be any at all, so that shouldn’t be difficult. And I’ve been additionally spurred on by re-reading OD entries from fourteen years ago, which was when I started writing in OD. October 2001. And it’s reminded me of how much I loved it way back then and how much I miss writing regularly and keeping up with my journaling friends.

I’m also finding it kind of depressing to re-read entries from 14 years ago. My mom was still alive and well and only a little forgetful sometimes; we still had Stella and Colfax; Baker B’s dad was also still with us, and he and my dad would come up and help us work on DisasterHouse. We rescued Simon and Maddy right after I’d started writing, and they were teeny little things. At least Maddy is healthy and still going strong. Anyhow, it’s kind of a downer so it occurred to me that perhaps it’s time to resurface in Prosebox, in Current Time.

SO. What was going on last entry?? WELL, our Instant House Sell didn’t pan out. The neighbor’s mother decided, very abruptly, that she wasn’t interested in it, after we gave her a starting price (a LOW starting price, incidentally, with the assumption that she’d offer an even lower one and we’d haggle from there. And we probably wouldn’t have haggled too much, either. We were so excited to escape!)

But she saw our very low price and said she was “withdrawing her interest”, and that was that. Which as it turns out is probably for the best. Especially since we made a horrifying discovery in our downstairs, never-used bathroom. I won’t even go into why we’ve never used it - it involves crushed pipes that the house settled on which have been long since fixed but there were all these other things wrong so we ended up shutting the door and pretending it’s not there. Not a great idea, as it turns out, since apparently there was a leak at some point and the walls around the shower rotted, and the ceiling is sagging because it seems the leak was from the upstairs, directly-overhead bathroom, and now the floors are damaged.

So YIPPIE!!!! Major bathroom renovations in store!!! We already knew we’d have to do some major repairs in the outside wall of the upstairs one, also suffering from rotting wood. Now they both get to have major repairs done. On the plus side, both bathrooms are tiny - you can stand in the middle of the upstairs one and touch all the walls. Well, you have to take a step into the tub to touch the outside wall, but it is a microscopic bathroom.

We didn’t realize this when we were thinking Neighbor’s Mom was going to buy it. We’d have had to drop the price so far that we couldn’t have afforded New House (New Very Old House That Has To Be Rewired). So in light of this issue we’ve decided to just get what we can fixed and put it on the market in the spring.

And we’ve already got new gutters, so that’s a start. I don’t know what we’ll do with the bathroom renovations but we’ve discovered that Lowes does that now so we’ll go have a word with them at some point and see how awful it will be.

Here’s the REALLY great thing, though - the House We Love has not sold, and not only has it not sold, they dropped the price. Not just a bit – they dropped it TWENTY THOUSAND DOLLARS. Which puts it at about where it ought to be for a 90 year old house whose wiring has to be replaced. And has flooring issues (hopefully that leak is fixed and it’s not getting worse as it sits on the market). And doubtless will need a new furnace. I’m thinking with some repairs on ours we’ll be able to sell it for a reasonable price and have extra money to fix the new one. The New Old One.

Unless of course it has worse problems than we’re aware of. We are being sensible about this, and will get our own inspection done. Dropping the price so radially is kind of weird, although it was very overpriced to begin with.

Well, that’s where we are currently. Hemorrhaging money and hoping to hemorrhage even more!! We got new gutters a few weeks ago, put in the new furnace in September… oh and just bought a new stove!! Because the control panel in the stove we bought 7 years ago quit working and would cost $400 to fix, which was about what a new equivalent stove costs. At least we’ll have some appealing new stuff when we do put this house on the market.

And of course I’ve gone on and on as I always do when I wait months between entries. Maybe I can actually catch up on reading everyone else....


Lyn December 02, 2015

Are you trying to beat my non-posting record?!?! :)

Excellent that you are making relocation progress.

Don't be a stranger.

noko December 02, 2015

New gutters are such a great idea considering how much rain you all have been getting. You shall have to write a story about the downstairs bathroom now though. Oh the things that might have gone on in there... Good you discovered it now I suppose. I have a new stove and I was roasting some beets the other day and realized OMG, I forgot to put the pan on a cookie sheet and if it boils over it will mess up my absolutely beautiful perfect new oven! Lucily the lid held and no beet juice got loose. Close call. Lovely to see you here. Have you watched The Man in the High Castle yet? I am about halfway through the first season.

edna million noko ⋅ December 03, 2015

We watched the first episode of Man In The High Castle ages ago, when it was first available, and really liked it -- but still haven't started the rest of it. Do you like it so far?

noko edna million ⋅ December 03, 2015

I think it is brilliant but so very dark I am having trouble getting through it. I'll let you know.

You were okay with the second season of Broadchurch too, I believe? I am getting ready to watch that.

edna million noko ⋅ December 03, 2015

I LOVED the second season of Broadchurch- it was very very different than the first season, and it sounded like a lot of people weren't pleased with the outcome, but I thought they did a great job. It gives more more insight into Alec's past.

Justlovely December 08, 2015

NOT a criticism in any way. I have to say that it's curious to me, (because I think we are all capable of this, and so many of us do it), this business of "closing the door" on a portion of our home that we just can't mentally tackle, and then a ton of time going by where it has become invisible. We do it with closets and basements and attics and spare rooms, and yes, you are not the first person I've known to wall off a troubled bathroom. It makes me think that even in small houses, maybe we all have just too much space. Hubs (and he totally needs a new name, as Mycroft didn't stick), and I have neglected to finish sorting and organizing the huge wonderful garage we have. We were so excited to finally have this great garage, but now it's been nothing but the shit collection space. Things are piling up and falling over and getting lost and black widows have moved into it. So, I commend you for all the mental effort of addressing a bunch of stuff at once at a really hard time of year, and taking the risk of wanting to make a big change with the idea of a new home.

edna million Justlovely ⋅ December 08, 2015

Isn't it insane??!!?? When we bought this house, EIGHTEEN YEARS AGO, having two bathrooms was way up on the list of stuff we wanted. We'd been renting a house with two and it was great. But we got in it and the toilet never worked right and we found out the pipes were smashed down there from the house settling, and I started ripping out floor tiles and then never finished because there was no point in doing that before we got the toilet replaced and fixed the pipes issue.... quite a few years later we had to get the pipes fixed because it was causing a problem with the upstairs toilet, and that would have been the time to start fixing everything else. I have NO idea why we didn't. Money, time, the fact that we are world-class procrastinators and apparently were royalty in former lives so always had someone doing all this stuff for us... who knows!

I am glad to know you know other people who have done this, because it just seems crazy and very incompetent to me. And I think you're EXACTLY right about too much space. We obviously do not need a second bathroom, this is the only place we've ever lived with two bathrooms, and the house we're hoping to move into just has one teeny one.

And believe me, we would do the EXACT same thing with your garage.

edna million Justlovely ⋅ December 08, 2015

"The only place we've ever lived with two" except our three-year rental house with two, I mean. SO we've had two bathrooms for three years, out of the nearly 30 years we've been together. And been completely fine with it. It was never a priority to fix it, and never mattered that we didn't fix it, other than making us feel like the worst homeowners ever!

Clearly I need to write a whole entry about the bathroom situation, since I can go on and on and on in notes about it!

Marg December 12, 2015

Well that was a very exciting entry for me to start reading from (start at the beginning? Why no - that would be FAR too logical!) ......

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.