Schooling woes in 2015

  • Oct. 22, 2015, 8:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ugh. Stressed. I’m like 2-3 days from getting my period and I feel like when I’m around that time, everything stresses me out a little more than it should, probably lol

Miley is in a french immersion school. Half the day is in french, the other half english. Apparently shes having issues in the reading department. So they have her in Reading Recovery. She is given small short stories to read to help boost her confidence. Plus they are sent home for her to read with me, and one specific word to work on and a puzzle of some kind. This is over and above her 30 mins of scheduled home work a night.

From the moment I get home at 3:10 from picking her up from school, until 4:30 is spent working on homework and stuff. Thats a long day for a 6 year old. Maybe I am different but I do NOT believe in scheduled home work. I feel if they didn’t get their work done in class, then YES by all means, it must go home to be completed. But I do not like that on Monday, I get a folder with 4-5 days worth of work to be completed after school hours. Shes a child. She wants to run an play and live. Not sit there for yet another fucking hour and basically get turned off school totally.

I wish there was a way that they never got homework. But that would just make me seem like a lazy mom.

I’m so the opposite. Every second week is a folder of French homework. At the moment she struggling with English. So now we are tossing a second language in there. Great. And before you say that maybe I should have put her in a full english school, we don’t have one here. I spend the day trying to figure out the french work, translating and finding the right pronunciation so that I can help her the best. This way when shes done at school I can help her right away.

Don’t forget now, this is during my already insanely busy day lol. I realize a lot of moms work 9-5 and I’m not sure how they would have the time to do all of this with their child. Plus have another little one running around.

This reading program shes in seems to be helping a lot with the english. I just think I may need a tutor for the french.

Who’d have thought that this would be my biggest concern someday in my life lol :)

Kristen <3


JustSurviveSomehow October 22, 2015

That is insane! I cannot believe that they don't have an all English school somewhere nearby. Immersion schools in the US are few and far between. I wish I would have had the opportunity when I was in school, but if your parents don't know the language, you almost have to get a tutor, because at some point, you are probably going to need more help than the school would offer. And she's only six, it's not like she can stay after school to get extra one-on-one help from the teacher.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ October 25, 2015

Exactly. I wish that it would go back to how QUEBEC was French, and thats it. Now its almost all the way thru Ontario, and we have to adjust. Tell me this: If suddenly English started infiltrating Quebec, do you think they would start offering English in schools? And making sure all the government jobs are bi lingual? I don't think so. They'd tell US (the English) to adjust. So why can't we tell them the same thing?? Welcome to Ontario. We are English here. Figure it out.

Hotaru October 22, 2015

I've heard some horror stories about kindergarten and homework. My sister-in-law teaches kindergarten in a private school locally so I've been asking her a lot of questions about what to expect when my kids start. It seems like we push them so much at earlier ages now. My SIL gave me an idea of what they are expected to know going into kindergarten and it's all the stuff that I learned in kindergarten.

I think we are just setting the kids up to get burned out and hate school.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Hotaru ⋅ October 25, 2015

I think you're right! That is exactly whats happening with her right now... shes overwhelmed, soon enough she will hate school and put up her roadblocks and we will be done :(

Pockets October 22, 2015

i remember those weekly folders of homework pages...so awful.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Pockets ⋅ October 25, 2015

Yeah :( I guess I get it... I mean they need to do some work at home but we are a bit overwhelmed.

Rerrin October 23, 2015

I'm a teacher. I set homework, but I don't follow up on it. If a kid doesn't do it, I'm not going to waste my time. All I set is spelling, 20 minutes of reading a night (I have Year 5 students, who all love to read... which is unusual!) and some Maths questions to consolidate what we've done over the week. I don't chase them up because some parents don't believe in it, while others do. That way, the ones that want to can, the others don't have to. It's pretty telling when it comes to their spelling tests who does and doesn't though.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Rerrin ⋅ October 25, 2015

Yeah and thats just it! I do it because I don't want her to fall behind... especially if the other kids are doing homework. Not sure they're marked on it or it even matters but I'll do it with her to keep her current, of course.

Rerrin October 23, 2015

Sorry, I got off on a tangent there. Have you spoken to her teacher and explained that you feel she has too much homework when the reading recovery activities are added on top of normal homework? Is there a possibility of doing selected activities or only reading recovery? I think sight words etc, are super important for young kids, but I'd be interested to see what the rest of the homework is.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Rerrin ⋅ October 25, 2015

I'm pretty sure I'm having a meeting with her teachers this week. I need to figure out a good game plan for her that isn't so overwhelming. :) I did get her some flash cards to help and some of those books you can get from Chapters with the learning stuff in them.

Her Grade 1 (5-6 year olds) French homework is reading a series of words, and then a series of sentences, and then making as many sentences out of those words that you can. Which is fine, if she could read English even... lol But now this is being tossed at her in French so its a bit crazy to her.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.