Reading Every Which Way in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 10/27/2015 9:29 a.m.

  • Oct. 26, 2015, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m quite amazed that I haven’t yet tried e-reading apart from dipping into free extracts of books once or twice which I’ve downloaded. I seem to find the iPad awkward to hold in bed and am a bit wary of reading from the phone as it’s supposed to keep you awake. However after the kids were round for most of the day yesterday I lay down for a nap at teatime and started to read diaries on here on my iphone, trying to catch up and I did notice my eyes were starting to droop a few times (which, rest assured, had nothing to do with the particular diaries I was reading!) . But I also noticed my neck was a bit tense as though it had been kept in a non-relaxed position so that can’t be good.

Instead of picking up a good old fashioned book one night last week I tried reading with my iPad - I was late in going to bed anyway which wasn’t smart but 2 hours later I was still wide awake and completely alert. At 4 a.m. I switched over to a book and within 10 minutes my eyes were closing!

I don’t get what makes the difference though (as far as I know the screen of the particular iPad I have is okay for reading).

I do have a grip thingie for the iPad which works great when there’s something to place it on like a table or between your knees but tends to slip if you’re just holding it.

And I certainly love the feel of a ‘proper’ book but my last lot of books from the library made me realise it’s time I did something about this now because certain books are just too heavy to hold.

The ones by Andrew Solomons at the bottom of this pile are the culprits in question this time -

-obviously the bottom one is in hardback so presumably there will be a paperback version but given that the second last one is paperback and I’m struggling even to hold that (I have arthritis in my right thumb joint which doesn’t help), it’s probably not going to make that much difference.

How do other folk manage?


Last updated March 28, 2018


blackpropaganda October 27, 2015

A book every time! But - before the cruise I loaded some books on my very old Kindle, just in case. In fact we hardly had time to read! However, since coming back I have read two of them in bed - since the KIndle is small format and with a dull screen they were just like a book - and my place was saved as I fell asleep. They are useless if you want to refer back - but for novels etc it was fine. Still, if I can get a book from the library I will take it. Actually I have all the main Dickens' novels on the KIndle - all free, and easy to use.

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ October 28, 2015

Yes I must admit when I was on the train once and the book I was reading was particularly large I did think this would be so much easier with an e-device! How do you mean they're useless for referring back?

blackpropaganda Marg ⋅ October 28, 2015

On my old small Kindle there are no page numbers - just that I have read 50% - so referring back easily to a previous page - say 20 away is not easy. On the Kindle Fire the page nos are displayed - but that is too big to hold.

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ October 28, 2015

Ah right I'd no idea. So you can't search for anything you've read either or is that a possibility?

blackpropaganda Marg ⋅ October 28, 2015

Only by going back page by page - actually in the novels not necessary - Newe models might be easier

patrisha October 27, 2015

I have cook books and art how-to books in dead-tree books and everything else is on a Kindle. I find reading on the IPad very stressful. Even when I turn the brightness down, it is still too bright. On the other hand, the present Kindles {Voyagers} are fantastic. I can reduce the glare to the point where I can read, but it doesn't hurt my eyes.

Marg patrisha ⋅ October 28, 2015

That must be it then. Perhaps I'll just have to invest in a Kindle eventually!

NorthernSeeker October 29, 2015

I had a sleepless night the other night...the moon was really bright. I read that the blue light from a TV or computer keeps your brain going and to get to sleep you need to read a regular book. I've tried this and it does make a difference for me. You could probably get a holder for the book...something that sits on a table and tilts back with clips to keep the pages down. Now I'm imagining making my own with a ramp, duct tape and clothes pegs.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 31, 2015

Gosh for a minute there I thought I was on Blue Peter (an old UK kids programme) which was famous for making all sorts of handy things out of washing up liquid bottles, sticky tape and anything else lying around!

Tick Tock Tick October 29, 2015

In the kitchen depts. of cooking shops they may sell plexiglass recipe book holders. They sit on your counter and keep the pages open. I'll have to try it in bed. Never have. Imagine if you're a fast reader you'll do lots of pulling it out to turn pages. Gave away two Kindles, hated reading them for reasons others have mentioned here.
When I have insomnia I can read a regular book all night. At least I figure I'm enriching my mind/being entertained while sleepless.

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ October 31, 2015

Yes every contraption I've seen seems to involve too much faffing around which is not what you want when you're trying to get to sleep!

I hate that kind of insomnia though which responds to nothing whatsoever and you end up clock watching - not so bad when there's nothing particularly pressing the next day but if you need to be alert for something it just adds to the agony!

Tick Tock Tick Marg ⋅ October 31, 2015

And now that I'm 70 I'm completely brain dead if I don't get good sleep. Do you find that the impact of a bad night has increased for you? I know you're much younger.

Ceylon Sapphire October 29, 2015

I was devastated when my e-reader died (that's how old it was) but I'm planing on buying a new tablet and buying e-books from now on so there are less things in my life making it easier to contemplate returning home.

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ October 31, 2015

It's certainly a spacesaver for sure - that's one big advantage - although I now get my books from the library so at least I'm not adding to the volume of reading material in my tiny house!

edna million December 04, 2015

I absolutely love my Kindle, despite thinking I'd NEVER love anything other than a real live book. I got my first one four or five years ago, and just traded it in for a new one very recently. Amazon here here has a really nice electronics trade in program that I didn't know existed- for the old Kindle I got a $30 credit plus $20 off a new one (I think that's how it worked) -ending up with getting a brand new Kindle for about $30. The new one is touch screen and even smaller, with "paper white" pages that are even more book-like than the older one. My biggest complaint is what an earlier noter said- it's very very hard to flip back and find something you've previously read. I often want to look back to see who did what or who said what a few chapters ago, and you have to just go back page by page, which is really annoying.

It's ridiculously lightweight, and I am addicted to being able to carry an entire library around with me instead of having to debate over what books to lug around. I read on my phone too and on my iPad but I find it harder- the screen light is bothersome and I do think it affects sleep. The Kindle doesn't even seem like an electronic device once you get used to it. Also the type is adjustable - great for those of us with Old People Vision! And they are really reasonably priced - I got the least expensive, the Kindle Touch, which was around $70 before the trade in. I think my first one was a couple hundred dollars years ago.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 11, 2015

Love your last line!! I remember writing about this same subject on OD so I seem to be ridiculously slow in getting there but I think I'm gradually coming round to it. Especially on days like today when none of my 6 library books are working for me and the bigger books are definitely getting heavier and more cumbersome to hold - I'm sitting here thinking if I had a little digital library I wouldn't have these problems!

edna million Marg ⋅ December 11, 2015

That is my very favorite thing - not having to lug books around, and especially not having to decide WHICH ones to lug around. And I change my mind about what I want to read, and like you I can have a bunch right beside me- but none of them are what I want.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.