Sydney in Piccies

  • Oct. 16, 2015, 11:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a good time in Sydney, but I haven’t even had a chance to read or write anything until now, since I stupidly finished work early today and crashed out asleep when I got home, resulting in me waking up at 2am when I have work at 6:30am. Ergh, great. So, I guess now is a good a time as any.

I took a fuckton of piccies. I just combined them all into an app to save you having to look through boring touristy photos. I’ll be getting enough of those next month :P

I arrived Monday morning on a rather pleasant flight, and decided to go for a walk to Bronte Beach. I’d done Bondi heaps of times and decided to go somewhere different. Well, that walk turned into an 18.6km trek, all the whilst carrying my heavy bag AND getting caught in a sudden storm that decided to come through overhead and there was NO shelter anywhere since I was in the middle of the coastal-walk. Luckily I had my little flimsy umbrella, but yeah it was a real pourpour. Anyway, here’s some piccies of the walk and my trip etc.

It was a stunning day - to start with :P How misleading.
alt text

Bronte beach really was quite beautiful and as I did the coastal walk, I came across this beachside graveyard which was just a thing of beauty. If you’re on my Facebook you’ve probably already seen the full photos I took at the time.

alt text

You can see this damn storm building up.
alt text

Now between the above photos and these ones, let’s just say I got saturated, and not in the good way.
There was no way I was game enough to use my phone during the downpour and I’m just thankful my umbrella saved that from getting destroyed.
alt text

Then I made it to Coogie Beach, which was quite nice, other than the water-colour difference (see 2nd photo below) due to that storm. As I was taking a photo of it, a guy next to me says, “Put that photo on the council’s Facebook page.”
I queried him what it was, and he told me the obvious - that it was sewerage. Apparently every time there is a downpour, this happens.
Ewwwwwww.
alt text
I found a cafe to grab a bite to eat and a drink but it was only when I got to the counter that I saw the ‘cash only’ sign. Ergh. Great. I was gonna have to put this shit back. Who the fuck doesn’t have EFTPOS in this day and age? Quit dodging tax, people!
Anyway, I couldn’t believe it when the guy said to not worry about it and just pay next time I’m in. I asked, “Are you sure?” and he’s like ‘Yeah, sure, don’t worry about it”.
I couldn’t believe it. I can’t remember that ever happening to me before. The only thing he asked me was how long I was here and I said ‘A couple of days’.
Anyway, I vowed to myself to make it back there.
I went to a servo up the road a bit (the only other store in the area) because I figured they’d have an ATM, but, of course, it was out of service. Ergh.
As the bakery was closing, I just had to go back another time.

I was so friggin sore by the time I made it to Ryan’s new place. He had just arrived home before I got there.
He lives across the road from all the snazzy shops (of course) but the view is nowhere near as good as his old place, although he is on the top level, which is the 5th floor.
alt text

Anyway, I was only there from Monday morning and left Wednesday night. I did make it all the way back to that bakery to give them what I owed (which was like $8) but this time I caught a train and a bus there, but because I don’t know the bus system, I caught it too far and the driver told me, ‘Last stop mate!’ and I had to get off and use my Maps app to find out how the hell to get back to the bakery and I made it was 15 MINUTES to spare because it was another 32 minute walk. Man, was I tired! So much effort just to give them $8.
I initially thought I should just send them a thankyou card with a $10 note in it, but I didn’t want to make it seem like I had done a runner.
Anyway, the guy was very thankful and I just walked in, handed over cash and walked out. I was gonna buy more stuff, but they were almost closed again so there was nothing in the display.

I’m going to write about my time with Ryan in a separate entry, for obvious reasons lol.


AlexYourAlterEgo October 16, 2015

Wow, that last picture of you! Definitely my favorite picture of you ever. EVER.

crunchie October 16, 2015

Far out that's a far distance to walk! I'm huffing and puffing if I make it to 5ks lol
I've never been to coogie beach before but want to since watching that show wonderland but not so sure now eww!

kmh. October 16, 2015

Great photos. I haven't done that walk yet. Maybe Jaden and I could do it over Christmas when we're up.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.