Early to bed in Diary

  • Oct. 4, 2015, 7:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Instead of going to bed at 7 am (-ish), I woke up then instead. For whatever reason I was exhausted way earlier than usual, so I went ahead and laid down. I didn’t really expect to sleep all night because of how early it was, and even though I woke up around 2:30 am and made some ramen noodles and watched a video, I went back to sleep not long after and didn’t wake up until the morning.

It’s still morning. It’s 10:46 at the moment, in fact, and I just finished up chapter 22 of the novel. Yay. Good times. I saved it to my PC, my flash drive, and the cloud, and I printed it out. I still need to add it to the big binder with all the other chapters, but I’ll do that once I’m done with this.

The chapter ended up being just over 4500 words, which is a little longer than my average maybe by a page and a half or so. The entire novel at this point is now approximately 84155 words in length. I’m getting there slowly but surely.

Today I wrote a scene with Carmen. It felt really good, and natural when I wrote it. Smoother than the rest of the chapter. I think it’s because she’s my favorite character, and I haven’t been able to include her point of view in the story for 5 chapters, which is a fairly significant chunk of writing. I feel like chapter 23 will be a lot easier to write than the past few chapters, like I’m in a groove to a certain extent. Autopilot and all that.

For the first time in forever I started writing first thing in the morning, before my brain had a chance to get distracted by…whatever it always gets distracted by; it varies, but there’s always something that comes up.

I haven’t played the flute yet, today. I will, but I’d really like to do it alone. My mom has been staying here since Friday night, and I don’t really feel comfortable with her listening. It might sound stupid to admit that, but that’s how I feel. I don’t want to hear any reaction to what I play or especially to the way I sound, even if it’s a positive one. I wish I wasn’t so stubborn and anal about that, but I can’t help it. If I can find a way to gently ask her to at least go to a different part of the house while I play (assuming she isn’t going to go home, which I hope she does, not that I don’t like seeing her) I will. And I won’t say, “Will you at least go somewhere else?” just so you know. :) I won’t put it that way. But I really do want to play, and I don’t want to be judged for good or for ill.

Later on I’ll go to my dad’s place, maybe my mom will go too, and we’ll watch the last two episodes of season 1 of Agents of SHIELD and have some pizza and hang out for a bit. My dad has been making pizza from scratch for the past several months. It’s really good, too. It’s really nice of him to go to the trouble.

That’s about all I’ve got for now. If I have more to say later, I’ll write more. But for now I’ll say bye. I’ll be back again soon. Take care, everyone.


WildflowerHeart October 07, 2015

Yay for more writing. I like it when it goes smoothly. I feel like you do about the flute with my writing.

Carmen the Vampire WildflowerHeart ⋅ October 21, 2015

That's cool. It's a good feeling. Sort of like therapy without the therapist.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.