No more suggestions on this entry please in Suggestion Box

  • July 5, 2013, 10:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just updating the entry to avoid more comments here.


Comments are closed.
Decayed Elvis July 05, 2013

I help make change happen.

simple mind Decayed Elvis ⋅ July 06, 2013

Turn and face the strange ch-ch-changes!

Greywolf Decayed Elvis ⋅ August 07, 2013

I need a roll of quarters.

Deleted user July 06, 2013

It would be nice to be able to read the first line or two of an entry before clicking on it. It can tell me if this is an urgent entry about a death in the family or hospitalization or if someone is simply venting about a situation. It helps when there are twenty updates and I only have five minutes to read.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ July 06, 2013

So I'm curious how you navigate. Do you find yourself browsing the main Bookmarks page looking for an entry to click on in classic OD style, or do you use the Previous/Next buttons to get around in your bookmarks? Just curious. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ July 06, 2013

I navigate by front page bookmarks, so I can see new folks who joined. Some folks write many entries a day, but generally do so one right after the other. I see them on the front page. If I only have a few minutes, I see what books they're writing in. If it's a thankful journal or fanfic thing, I know I can come back later as it's most likely not life or death or some major thing. Some titles, though, I'm flying blind.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ July 06, 2013

Yeah, I find myself relying on the front page listing quite a bit too since I want to see who's new. I think having a brief preview of the entry is a good idea, in addition to being able to page back.

cyndication July 06, 2013

I had trouble responding to a comment that was responding to MY comment. Direct links maybe?

simple mind cyndication ⋅ July 06, 2013

There should be a link to the appropriate entry, above the person's name/icon. Although I would like to add an inline reply feature so you can do it in place. :)

cyndication simple mind ⋅ July 06, 2013

Got it!

Linda July 07, 2013

Is there a way to make an entry so that only your bookmarks can read it or are all of them public?

simple mind Linda ⋅ July 07, 2013

Not yet. Privacy features are a big item on the to-do list :-)

Linda simple mind ⋅ July 07, 2013

Thank you. I know several people who would love to come over when that feature is available.

Decayed Elvis July 09, 2013

I think it might be better to separate the "draft" button from the "save entry" button and make the two different colors.

simple mind Decayed Elvis ⋅ July 09, 2013

I aim to please.

SweetMelissa July 11, 2013

I don't have any suggestions - just a comment. I LOVE the book feature. I found adding images, video and links really friendly. It's a good thing you got here.

Ginger Rogers July 12, 2013

I would like to transfer my Open Diary diary to here. Is it possible?

simple mind Ginger Rogers ⋅ July 12, 2013

Not yet but it's on my to-do list (one of the more challenging items).

Soul Karma Ginger Rogers ⋅ July 18, 2013

I second this suggestion! :)

Jack July 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Mind, (or shall I just call you Simple?) :P

I'm quite OCD and anal (Yea, I know, It sucks to be me sometimes). Is there a way to justify the text on both the right and left margins? I'm sure other text fonts and colors will come later. By the way, I'm still really enjoying my experience here. I didn't realize how important it would be for me to be able to engage/communicate with the....not to use a derogatory term but, "The Diary Master".

simple mind Jack ⋅ July 13, 2013

It looks like it's pretty easy to do, though I don't know how well it works on various devices. A quick test proves it doesn't stretch out line breaks in poetry or anything weird like that. I could push it out as a change in the entry detail and preview panel and see what kind of feedback I get since it's an easy change. :)

Jack simple mind ⋅ July 13, 2013

Cool Beans M'Lord!

simple mind Jack ⋅ July 13, 2013

And I've told others (jokingly) that they may address me as M'lord. ;)

cricket_factor July 13, 2013

How about a Facebook page?

cricket_factor July 14, 2013

Is there a possibility to just bookmark entire Proseboxes (like diaries)? Or am I doing it wrong?

cricket_factor July 14, 2013

OK, please excuse or delete my last suggestion. I'm getting the hang of this place, finally! Evidently people have to have several "boxes" (or at least one) to be able to bookmark them.

simple mind cricket_factor ⋅ July 14, 2013

Yes, currently you can bookmark anyone on the site from their main user (or box) page. I'll probably adjust it to add more control over individual books.

moneypenny simple mind ⋅ August 07, 2013

This would be a nice feature, so that (for example) we could subscribe to your book about site updates and not your personal books.

simple mind moneypenny ⋅ August 07, 2013

Yeah, that was my original plan. In fact, I even originally put bookmarks on books instead of user. Problem was, people were creating 15 books and it was really tedious to keep track of new books and bookmark them all (if you wish to). So the plan now is to allow you to bookmark a user, but exclude specific books if you want to.

Soul Karma July 18, 2013

Forgive me. I've only been a user for about a week. Have I completely missed the instructions on how to search for a particular user to add to my bookmarks? Or is it available? For example, I have friends from OD that may have crossed over, and I'm unsure as to how to go about locating them on Prosebox. Is there a search option, or will there be one implemented?
Thanks again!

JadedAngel68 August 02, 2013

I would like to see some different privacy options. I really don't like all my writing to be public. I am just learning things here. thanks for making the site though. I hope it turns out to be good.

delete please August 03, 2013

privacy options plz I feel like I'm running naki through the interwebs

Deleted user August 07, 2013

It would be nice to have the ability to set a timezone so entry times matched the actual time of an author's location/choice

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ August 07, 2013

Yes! You'll be happy to know that time zone support is enabled and adding this to the settings page is on my list.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ August 07, 2013

Awesome, thank you simple mind (or Prose Pimp if Hoops gets his way :-))

Greywolf August 07, 2013

Is there a way to view my list of bookmarks? I'm new here and just finding my way around. There is a list down the left side of my page that contains the word BOOKMARKS, but it isn't linked to anything, while all the other items on the list are. Got a fix? Thanks.

simple mind Greywolf ⋅ August 07, 2013

The BOOKMARKS is actually a heading in the menu, in respect to the Latest Entries link below it. It links to the same page as the book icon in the top menu bar. An improvement I'm going to make is to add a Bookmarks page grouped by user. For now, there's just the latest bookmark entries.

Greywolf August 07, 2013

I believe that newest on top would be a better way to handle this page, if at all possible. The page is already a mile and a half long. We usually like to see if our comment really posted.

Comments are closed.