Basque in Diary

  • Sept. 10, 2015, 10:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Same stuff, different day. Read a chapter of Salt which talked about the importance of salt in ancient Chinese culture. Read a little more of Stephen King’s book, not as much as usual since the Salt chapter was kind of long and I had to look up a couple words every now and then. A lot of writers say that reading is vital to good writing. I’m sure they’re right, but I tend to avoid reading in general and focus my attentions more on videos or games or literally anything else. Now that I’ve made it a habit, though, I have been enjoying it.

I wrote a little more than I did, yesterday, on chapter 22. I’m writing about the whole bringing Carmen back from the dead thing. You know, vampire-making and all that. Do you think the name Carmen sounds masculine? It’s fine whatever you might think. I won’t be offended. I like it better as a woman’s name than a man’s.

I had to look up alternative words for ‘bra’ and ‘panties’ not too long ago. I hate both of those words, especially panties. I ended up just choosing basque, which is an actual type of clothing that is sometimes used as a support garment. And bottoms. It would be way too jarring for anyone to read the common words for undergarments. And the idea of using g-string, or thong, or anything like that makes me cringe when I think of including them in my story.

Anyway, this will have to be a short entry because I need to go to the store with my dad in just a few minutes and I still need to take a quick shower.

When I get back I’ll eat dinner, chillax for a minute, and then I’ll go from there. I possibly might do more writing before I jump into the Minecraft build or the laziness of watching youtube videos. Take care as always, y’all. I never actually say that word, in case you were wondering. Bye for now.


nothispenelope September 10, 2015

'carmen' brings to mind women. as in carmina barana [i think it's an opera or something] and carmen miranda. it also brings to mind hispanic women.

i don't like the word 'panties' it sounds too delicate.

WildflowerHeart September 13, 2015

I've never known a man with the name Carmen. It's always been a female in my experience. So, I wouldn't say it was masculine. It's not overly feminine though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.