Uncomfortable in Diary

  • Sept. 6, 2015, 10:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not long after I wrote my last entry, maybe a few days later, I think I passed the kidney stone. Or at least part of it. Since then I thought I was developing a urinary tract infection. There was pain with urination, and pain in general along the urinary tract. I went to the instacare clinic closest to me and gave a urine sample. The doctor said there was a higher than usual concentration of lucites in the sample, which apparently is consistent with someone who might have a UTI. She prescribed me an antibiotic, and that was that. A few days later I got a call from the doctor. She said the test came back negative, meaning no infection was detected. The pain had gradually lessened during that time anyway, so I wasn’t overly concerned. If my symptoms returned or got worse, she advised me to go see her again or go to the hospital.

Well… Yesterday I was fine, for the most part. There was occasional pain, but it was very minor. At the time, I still felt that I was getting over whatever the problem was. Today, though, the pain is sharp and is reminiscent of the pain you feel when you are passing a kidney stone, after it has left your kidney. It feels like there is something in there that’s slowly but steadily scraping its way through my urinary tract. I decided to take a pain pill 20 minutes ago or so. I’m starting to feel a little more comfortable.

I think that there is still a piece of the stone that I need to pass. Either that or it’s the second stone that was in my kidney when I last went to the ER. That’s my guess, at least, since there is no infection. I’m still taking the antibiotics, just in case. If I don’t pass the stone or if my symptoms get worse or stay the same by Monday or Tuesday, I’m going to go…somewhere. Not sure if it will be the hospital or the instacare. The hospital will be at least $700, and the instacare will be $130-ish. If I go to the ER, I’ll almost definitely find out what’s wrong with me, while at the instacare, I feel like at best it’s more of a 50/50 chance.

Anyway.... It’s hard for me to write because my head is starting to feel fuzzy and unfocused. I got woken up by the caretaker this morning after I’d only gotten 3 hours sleep, so…yeah, I’m tired on top of it all. But I felt like I should update y’all about what’s been happening.

Well, I’m off to read your entries, note, and then I’ll probably play some Metal Gear to try to stay awake as long as possible. Bye for now.


ElvenAssassin September 08, 2015

::hugs::

WildflowerHeart September 08, 2015

I hope you're able to pass the stone and feel better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.