Last Saturday in Shrewsbury Town and on the River Severn in The View from the Terrace

  • Aug. 23, 2015, 7:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems to have been raining on and off ever since we came home from Shrewsbury last week. Yesterday there was one hell of a storm, the rain was tipping down.
Thank goodness last Saturday was fine.
We stayed overnight in Shrewsbury after the show and spent the next day in the town. There were parts of the place that I hadn’t visited in years. We found some wonderful little shops, there was a chocolate shop and one devoted to things for old houses, and I saw Ellis Peters’ Shrophire in a charity shop window and went in and grabbed it. She wrote the Brother Cadfael novels which are set in Shrewsbury.
In the High Street we saw a Morris Minor Traveller in beautiful condition. From it’s registration it was a 1966 model, 49 years old!
alt text
We had lunch in a lovely little vegetaran restaurant and then had a look in the market which was full of fascinating stalls. On one there was an umbrella with cats and dogs on it - raining cats and dogs- I should have bought it for yesterday. The town was packed because of the flower show.
alt text
In the afternoon we went for a trip on the river Severn. Although I grew up in Shrewsbury I had never been on the river before.
alt text
This is me standing under The Quantum Leap, known by the locals as The Slinky. It was built in 2009 to commemorate the bicentenary of Charles Darwin who was born and educated in the town.
alt text
Before starting our journey home we had tea in Lily’s beautiful riverside garden cafe which, is only open in the summer because it floods every year in the winter!
alt text
alt text


Last updated February 08, 2019


🌻StillJustMe🌸 August 23, 2015

That looks like a gorgeous place to visit :)

^..^Kat August 24, 2015

So many people!! I enjoy your photos, thank you for sharing.

MemoryFails August 24, 2015

Oh my god I am sooo jealous! That is absolutely beautiful! :)

Marg October 29, 2016

And there you are wearing your beautiful butterfly top - I love your jacket! So nice to see diary people in the flesh so to speak - I always find it completely fascinating how the image I build up of folk from their diary can sometimes be so different from the real thing. (I don't mean that in a bad way incidentally!!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.