Open your eyes a little on same-sex marriage in Vulnerability

  • Aug. 16, 2015, 6:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thank fuck that work-week is over. The manager called in sick again on Sunday, so I ended up working a full day. Luckily I happened to be awake early and saw his facebook message, otherwise I wouldn’t have turned up until 9am. Managed to get there by 7am.

I love how the same-sex marriage debate here in Australia appears to be tearing apart the liberal party. Gee, wouldn’t that possibly tell them that most of Australia actually WANTS it? Tony Abbott is down to 15 percent as preferred prime minister LOL. Even Julie Bishop is currently at 23%. That’s scary when you have bulging-eyes-chick as being more popular than you are.
Malcolm Turnball is at 43% preferred, but the LNP is only at 47% as two-party preferred.
I ask myself what the fuck is wrong with those 47% lol. It should be a bit fat ZERO!

I saw a really sad status from a guy I know of, via a comment that a facebook friend made on his status (you know how Facebook does that so it shows up in your newsfeed?)
Well anyway, apparently this guy was walking through the Valley, minding his own business when some absolute fucktosser decided to yell out at him something along the lines of, “I’m fucking GLAD Abbott said no to same-sex marriage, you fucking disgusting faggot!!!”
There was more verbal abuse than that, but that was the main gist of it.

There’s still so many fiercely homophobic citizens out there, and it drives me mad whenever I hear about it. It reminds me of my own experience at that Gold Coast train station last year where I almost got into that fist fight on my commute back from Sydney, where that ice-addict fuckstick was yelling homophobic shit at me for absolutely no reason whatsoever.

When will people grow up? What has MADE these people so so viciously bullying toward gay people?
They say that the most homophobic people are usually those who have been deeply repressing their own true feelings for years, and maybe so, but I think there’s way more to it than that. I feel like something has happened in their lives or they know someone who ended up being a child molester or some shit that made them behave this way.

But it isn’t fair to people like this guy who’s status I read. Just because some other dickhead fucked you over doesn’t give you the right to treat perfectly innocent strangers like a piece of shit stuck to the bottom of your shoe.

I remember reading that stutus, wondering how I’d handle a situation like that. At the train station, I was that tired and stunned that this was happening that I remember just saying to the guy, “Leave me alone! I’m just trying to get home!” I was surprised I even said that. I just remember feeling like I didn’t want to deal with this dickhead, and that’s what came out. I was seriously expecting at least a punch in the face. Instead, I got shoved backward, forcefully, and thankfully. I don’t remember falling over. Dickface got back in his car and took off, friend and girlfriend in tow, who had watched the whole thing.
I remember other people at the station. All stood by, no-one getting involved or standing up for me. I remember thinking, “Cowards” and couldn’t look at anyone. Reality had set in by then, and I’d started crying.
I remember this guy coming up to me and asking me for directions somewhere. It was like he’d just arrived at the station and had missed everything that had just happened. I remember sniffling and crying whilst I helped him with where he needed to go lol.

So since that situation, I wonder to myself how I’d react should something like that happen again. Like if that were me in that Valley guy’s place. A thought came to my mind that I’d actually ask him what his problem was. I don’t know how I’d actually react in the moment, but I’d be so, SO fucking over people who act like this toward gays that I’d want to stand up for myself and risk getting punched out by some coward who needs to seriously change his way of thinking with the world.

Yes, there are fuckheads in the world, but denying equal rights for everyone is just plain mean. You don’t own the word ‘marriage’. I believe that it’s not even a religious right, like the religious claim it is. I keep hearing that it’s something the Pagan’s invented.

So using religion, children, lack-of-a-differently-gendered-parent and your SHEER homophobia are pathetic reasons for denying same-sex attracted human beings the same or similar rights as what you have.

There is no reason to keep acting like a complete fuckhead as you go through your life.

Even Eminem once said something along the lines of, “Why shouldn’t gays be as miserable in marriage as you and me?” :P

And I had to agree with what Peter Hellier said on The Project last week - “They are only asking for it to be legal, not for it to be mandatory.”

Isn’t life much more fun and easier if you just open your eyes a little?

I hope that guy is okay mentally after that experience.


kmh. August 16, 2015

It makes me so upset :(

colojojo August 17, 2015

I really don't get it either. If it doesn't affect your life, why do you give a shit what other people do with theirs or if it's allowed? I think for some people that struggle with it are just uncomfortable because to them it's not normal or what they grew up with. They knew of one or two gay people but back then, they had to suppress their feelings in public. Now it's out in the open and there is PDA and whatever and it makes them really uncomfortable.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.