Ekka 2015 in Piccies

  • Aug. 11, 2015, 7:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m gonna keep this short, because I’m fucking exhausted haha.
I spent most of the afternoon there. I didn’t want to get there too early, but I still wanted to see everything.

I’m actually quite proud of how well I timed everything. I had a good day, despite being alone. I was alone last year as well. I’m used to it. And it’s a family event too!

I took so so many photos, so once again, I’ve collage’d them all together haha. If you happen to be on my Instagram, you’re probably sick of all the #ekka hashtags that I was posting constantly, but it was because I was almost out of battery and they were promoting the heck out of using the hashtag, so I did. You won’t see those here though. Just the pics :)

alt text
I accidentally cut the cows head off in editing lol whoops. These guys were really cute, and I watched a live demonstration on how to milk a cow and how butter and cream and cheese is made from it! Pretty unreal how many different products can all come from the milk of a cow!

alt text
Next up I saw some Alpaca’s. The guy looking after the area just looked completely bored, but I guess that’s because he’s used to them. They fascinated me and we were even allowed to pat/pet them :)
Oh, the random spa as the last picture? It’s a bad angle, but that was actually gigantic and on sale for A$26,000. I’d never seen a spa that big.

They had a whole animal nursery section where little kids were holding puppies and little ducklings and goats etc, and they had hand sanitizing stations everywhere. It was a really good set-up. That was a bit too kiddish for me however. If I had a kid of my own, I’d totally be in there however, using them as an excuse :)

alt text
Now, I need to explain why there’s random pictures of this horse, because this horse actually totally made my entire EKKA experience this year. Let me explain…
I was only trying to take a photo of it(oh fuck, I’m tear’ing up writing this LOL) but the horse noticed me with the camera and came up really, really close to me. The second last picture is blurry because I was like, ‘Whoa!’ and the lady who was riding this horse motioned for me to give the horse a pat - like rub it’s nose or whatever. I didn’t actually know what to do. Would it mind?? LOL. I know I grew up on a farm and all, but it was a grain farm and we only had cats and dogs as pets, not horses or any of these other animals.
So I did, I reached my hand out, as it was in my personal space, now over the railing.
But this horse, omg, this horse nuzzled against my hand.
I know it wasn’t much, and maybe that’s just what horses do haha, but I was so touched. She’d singled me out with the camera, and she was so gentle.

As I walked off, I noticed I had started to tear up a little LOL. What the fuck is wrong with me? Getting teary over a horse?
Maybe it was because she was the only creature there who had given me any attention? LOL.

Anyway, after I got all emo over a steed, I wandered around and I bought a cup of traditional lemonade (very country) and that was overpriced and delicious, and a bit later I bought an overpriced but delicious dagwood dog, because that’s what you do at shows.

Then I watched the night show, which was mostly good except for some weird-ass guy who was dancing with a heap of kids in onesies.
There was also a monster-truck show, which was mildly entertaining, whilse some MC yelled out stuff like “Yo Yo”, “Radical!” “HOLY COW” and “THAT WAS AMAZING” over and over. It was definitely to cater to the few-brains country male audience, that’s for sure.

Then we watched some horse trotting races, then James Blundell did his set. I mean, you can’t get much more country than James Blundell. It was kinda cool though because I made a comment on his “Hills Of Brisbane” music video when he released that a while back, and he actually replied to me, thanking me for the support, so that was nice, and I recognised the music video playing on the big screen, even though that wasn’t the song that was playing.

Then there was the fireworks show, which really was something pretty spectacular. The fireworks didn’t just go skyward this year, but all around and over the arena. I sat there thinking that the $30 entry fee actually seemed like it was worth it.

Some more pics I missed
alt text

alt text

alt text
These are freaking CAKES. WHO has this much time and talent!? Seriously!!?

alt text

alt text
Haha, I did get one sneaky selfie in :D

alt text
Annnd finishing off with the fireworks pics, which are blurry. The videos turned out much better on Instagram. And right as I was filming the finale, as soon as I posted it, my phone decided to run out of battery.

It was a sign!

Off home I went, via the Showbag pavillion, where I picked up a bag of Darrell Lea ‘Pig Out’. It’s the exact same one I got last year, and it set me back another $20. I was thinking that the Tim Tam Showbag (worth $16) actually seemed like it would be worth it, because it gave you 5 packets of full-sized Tim-Tams, two Tim-Tam mugs and a pair of sock-slippers, which are basically slippers but have the firm base on them, and they’d probably actually be alright in this Winter weather.

As I was walking out, seeing all these families with a million showbags each, I was thinking to myself, “It must set back a family at least $300ish coming here for a day”, once you factor in the $80 entry fee, food, rides, showbags etc etc.

I worked out that I’d spent $30 on entry, $5 on the lemonade, $7 on the dagwood dog and $20 on the showbag, so what’s that? $62. That’s alright. I’d budgeted around $100. I only got out $40 at the ATM and came home with $8 change.

And I had a good day. Thanks for the fireworks, and that lovely horse :)


Last updated August 11, 2015


AlexYourAlterEgo August 11, 2015

Great photos! I used to love going to the Newcastle show. It's nowhere near as big as the Ekka, but still enjoyable. I would think the same thing about those families loaded down with showbags - so expensive! As kids, we were allowed one (within a certain price range). Once my siblings got older and I was the only kid wanting to go, I was allowed to get two showbags, which was majorly exciting.

KissOfLife! AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ August 11, 2015

That is exciting. They were like getting a present. I still like them now and I'm 31 haha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.