Man, what a long walk that was! in Piccies

  • Aug. 11, 2015, 2:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went for such a massive long walk yesterday. It tends to be what I do on my days off because it’s a) inexpensive and b) gives me something to do rather than wallow around the house all day on the internet and there’s only so many sites I can check over and over.
There was also a c) reason though I guess. I jumped on my scales yesterday as I haven’t properly checked myself in over a month. Cue my shock and surprize when the scales flashed up at 94.9kg.
Holy fucking shit. The words my mother said to me about my father haunted my mind again, “When your father turned 30, he started to balloon.” (ie, get fat). My dad does drink beer though and doesn’t exercise all that often (other than walks).
I’ve just been a bit self conscious over the past few weeks, noticing that I’m getting more of a belly than I ever have before. Maybe I am, maybe I’m being paranoid. But the scales have definitely gone up. To think I’m 5 kilos off being 100kg is pretty fucking scary. Having said that, I don’t think I look bad, but I am keeping tabs on it and want to level it out or bring it back down maybe just a little. I loved being in the late 80’s and I understand that once you get too heavy, it is harder to get rid of it, so I’d rather try and keep it at bay.

Given how slim I always was as a 20-something, it even stuns me that I’m talking like this today, about the possibility of one may maybe becoming overweight!

I suppose there was also another factor. I came across a tagged photo of my former best-friend on Facebook. I don’t mean to be mean, but I didn’t even recognize him. It’s been 5 years since I was at his wedding, and I get a lot can change in that time, but the fact that I only knew it was him by reading his name-tag was a real shame for me. He’s really stacked it on. I get that can happen once you get married and have a few kids (which he has) but his ‘dad-bod’ is more of an ‘obese-bod’. It just really shocked me! Blew my mind that people can change so much, physically.

Surprisingly, I found a bike path not too far from my house that I hadn’t wandered down before. I know right! Go figure, so I followed it, and followed it and it seemed to go forever, but it was such a nice day and such a lovely walk that I just kept going. I found myself taking so many pointless photos throughout the walk, just of my surroundings. I took a Snapchat of a Kookaburra laughing because I thought it was cute, not that I could hear it. Shame I only sent that one to ‘My Story’ rather than saving it.

I just combined all of my photos, because I don’t really see the point of posting individually basically the same photos over and over again.

I did briefly pass the EKKA, but I didn’t go in. They are charging $30 entry this year! Crazy. I’m still tossing up if I wanna go because I only really want to see all the kitty cats and the fireworks show, but it’s now only 11am the next day and I don’t really want to spend all day there either, but I don’t want to go tomorrow because it’s “People’s Day” and a public holiday for my city, so it will be crowded as fuck, so I need to be sensible about avoiding the crowds. I know it’s expensive but it’s a novelty and I only went to my first EKKA last year by myself, and that was pretty fun. I keep seeing a heap of my ‘friends’ checking in there on Facebook but they are all with other people or partners or friends and here I am, by myself, the loner that I generally am lol.

I mean, heck, I would’ve walked 10 kilometers yesterday, at least. My feet were SO sore and I was very glad to get back home. It probably didn’t help I was walking the concrete path, I suppose. Anyway, here’s my collage of pics.

alt text

The bike path must have weaved it’s way through at least 4 different parks, each one as huge as the last. All were public areas and there was a dog park and it was just really nice. I even sat on those bleachers for a little bit. I was amazed there was a baseball pitch. I didn’t even think we had baseball in Brisbane.

alt text

I went back via the EKKA again, just snapping pics on my phone from the main road, plus a random shot of the Meriton from a vantage point in my suburb.

I went over to Vish and James’ for dinner, and Angelo joined us a bit later on, so that was great. Always lovely to see him.


Last updated August 11, 2015


kmh. August 11, 2015

Looks like a lovely walk :) All this walking and you soon won't have to worry about being close to 100kg lol. At least your frame can pull it off, mine can't lol >.<

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ August 11, 2015

You've been doing mountains! Mine was only a few steep hills!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.