The story so far.... in From There to Here

  • July 31, 2015, 8:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So there’s a few things you need to know (if indeed there is a you reading this.) I’ve always had on again off again relationships with these blogging/diary sites. I was on OD for some years. Never what you, (And here I’m going to just assume from now on for literacy purposes that there is actually a you) , would call a regular updater. I tended to treat my entries almost like an essay and would spend time composing them, opening paragraphs, central themes, occasionally even some witty and well constructed sentences. I suppose you could say I’m a nerd when it came to this stuff.

I always gave myself some rules to follow. Generic stuff really; endeavor only to speak the truth or at least try to find the truth, keep rants to minimum, don’t try to be overly cryptic in your entries, spell check, use correct grammar and acknowledge your noters. It’s a strange world we operate in here in the online diary quarters. We put up our most private thoughts and feelings for the world to see should they wish it and I think we all crave some form of appreciation or acknowledgement for it. That’s why all these sites come with comment sections, which are far removed thankfully from those of YouTube which are more full of vitriol and unchecked aggression than anywhere else. It’s like the worst face of humanity where even peoples sanctified mothers are not safe. Anyway I digress.

So here I sit typing in the wee small hours of the morning like I have done so many times cigarettes to hand low level music playing in the background trying to put some semblance to the words that make their way out. Meandering on the metaphorical page with an end I intend to meet and working out as I write on how best to get there.

All that being said that was the “There” and hopefully in the not too distant future we’ll (and here I’m going back to wondering if indeed there is a you still with me) get to the “Here” and perhaps even the now.

D


Last updated July 31, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.