Sick of being sick in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

Revised: 07/13/2015 5:40 a.m.

  • Jan. 8, 2006, 8 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Original title: Sick Of Being Sick
Original OD URL: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D260587&entry=10196

Well it’s been a while since I’ve been able to get back online. We’ve had some pretty wild weather here the past week or two. I took photo’s of one recent storm it was that amazing, but I can’t go online yet cos Nev’s home, being Monday. I’ll have to put the photo’s up next time. As I was taking photo’s, there was this deafening strike of lightning/thunder, which literally made me back right off away from the window, trying to catch my breath. I didn’t realize how close that strike actually was, until the next morning. The lightning had struck one of our neighbours houses. It melted their aerial, blew up all their TV’s and their dvd player and video. A guy who was out inspecting the damage reckons that our house must’ve had what they call the ‘side-strikes’ of the lightning bolt, as all our phone lines were out for about 24 hours, until I think I realized the problem. I realized I couldn’t connect to the internet, no matter how many times I unplugged the modem and put the socket back into the phone line - I tried every combination possible but every time it would say, ‘No Dial Tone’, which was crap cos the modem light was on. I figured the storm must’ve blown up my modem, so I went and bought a new one. Do you know how hard it is to buy a dial-up modem these days? GOD! I had to try three different stores before I finally found ONE variety at Officeworks. I guess retailers figure everyone’s using ADSL these days. Yeh I WOULD use that if the fucking service was available here! Oh well, I’m just glad I got the net back. It’s amazing how much you realize you miss it when you don’t have it.

I have no money. Very little money. I finally got my car back, and that’s really hit my bank account in the guts. It was roughly around $500 when you add up everything. The bloke reckons if it starts to leak again I’ll have to get the motor taken out. Oh shit. Also I realized my air-con doesn’t seem to be working - fuck it. It was fine before I took it there. My mate reckons it costs a fortune to get re-gassed. So yeh my account is at an all-time low, and it’s rather scary. It’s hard to survive without money these days, and on top of that, our rent goes up! I’ll have to pay $105 a week, which is the most I’ve ever paid just to live in a damn house. I really don’t like the idea of it and I really wanna move out. It’s weird living with a middle-aged gay man anyway. I think I’ve realised I need to live around people my own age, gay or straight, just not homophobes. I’m just way more comfortable and myself that way, plus I wouldn’t be paying so much per week for someone else’s mortgage. Nev’s asked me a few times if I’m happy here, and I’ve lied saying I am. I just feel bad cos if I leave he’ll have pay double, and he’s already complaining that the rent’s going up. I guess I’ll get the courage to make a move eventually. I’ve moved so many times since I moved to Brisbane, what’s one more? Just somewhere cheaper. My bank account will thank me.

I just dyed my hair. I think I got it right this time, cos I tried once before but it didn’t work out properly. It’s still blonde, just streaked better. I think it looks good anyway. I cut it myself too. Need to save money so can’t really afford the hairdresser this time.
Back to work tomorrow. It’s Monday and I’m actually bored. I stayed at Mark’s place last night, and although I was nervous, I slept in his bed. Thank God he didn’t touch me though. It’s good, we’re good now I think. He had to leave for work, and I was so tired he gave me the keys and let me sleep in. It was comfy! I dropped the keys off at his work later that day as I was driving home. I went to Lindsay’s place, but he didn’t appear to be home and I rang his phone but didn’t hear it ringing. I found out when I was halfway home that he was actually home, just asleep. Dammit! I was right outside his door! He asked if everything was ok, and I replied I was just sick of being sick. I’m still so sick. Mainly a sniffly nose, and it won’t stop! I’ve nearly used my entire pack of tissues. Ahhhh what can I do to get better? Even at work I’ve been running off to the bathroom every so often to blow my nose. Just like everything else, I guess I’ll have to wait it out. I don’t think I’ve had a properly healthy day in my life since I got sick, and that was like 3 or 4 months ago!! I guess Nev was serious about the customer telling him there was a ‘100-day sickness’ going around. God mine’s gotta stop eventually, right?

Fuck, those shark attacks in Moreton Bay are pretty scary. The way they describe it is so unnecessary I reckon. (don’t read this is you’re a bit woozy.) “She was ‘tossed around like a ragdoll by a pack of bullsharks, both arms ripped off and her legs mawled.’ She was only 21, and a Brissy girl. They just re-opened the beaches. I’ve never seen a shark in real life, and I’d probably freak if I saw one swimming in the water with me at the beach. I mean I’ve seen tons of jellyfish and bluebottles, but sharks? Nope. The water where the attack happened is said to be extremely deep though.

I’m having another butter menthol. Doesn’t seem to be helping though, and I’ve been taking vapour drops and panadol too, when my headache gets bad. I hate it when I go somewhere and I don’t have tissues. Even at Mark’s last night it happened. Oh well.

John rang me as i arrived there last night. Casey (Mark’s housemate) arrived home and I yelled “hi!” and John yelled “Hi!” from the other end of the phone. I said to Casey that Johnny says hi. She then said, “Tell him I have great boobs!” So I did. So to cut a long story short, Casey is having a birthday party next Saturday and asked me to bring John along. It’s gunna be pretty wild, as party’s at Mark’s house usually are. They are in the process of moving out too, so I guess it’s a part Farewell Party also. So yeh, basically Casey and John are being set up. Oh well, they’ll either get along or they won’t :) I find the gay scene unbelievable. Mark was telling me about a guy last week that was over who was an ‘arrogant prick’ and stuff, whose name is Bash. I know Bash! He’s on my MSN list and I never thought he was. I guess it’s good to have friend’s around to warn you about certain people. I’ll still talk to him and stuff, but it’s gunna be a little different now that I know what he’s really like. Why are people so fake? I wanna know. It’s like mark said, even gay clubbing doesn’t interest him anymore, cos everyone’s so fake. No-one’s who they really are, and are all dressed-to-impress. I guess that’s how it works though. Sad, isn’t it? Scott invited me out to the Family Sunday night, cos it was Fluffy night (the gay night) but as I was at Mark’s, I didn’t wanna be rude by leaving. I packed clothes just in case I decided to go, but I didn’t. His friend, Trent, apparently stayed at the club. Haha. He’s from Sydney and is making the most of the Brissy boy crowd. Scott said he was being a ‘naughty boy’ cos he was staying lol. It woulda been good to hang out with him again but hey. I stayed the night at Mark’s, and it was all good. Rather a lazy weekend kinda. Kinda feel sugglish though, and when I feel sluggish cos of being sick, I just don’t feel like doing much. There, that’s my excuse.

Luke leaves for Toowoomba in 3 days. Shit I am going to miss him so much…
Mon, 9 Jan 2006 0:00:00 GMT


OD Notes…

hell_bound_heart
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=A775765
Mon, 9 Jan 2006 9:24:00 AM GMT
awe I am sorry to hear that youre not feeling well and about luke leaving..thats sad. Keep your chin up though. Things will start looking up sooner or later.

Taste The Rain Bow
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=D504639
Mon, 9 Jan 2006 11:17:47 AM GMT
Hey Matt I was wondering where you were. Glad you’re ok and back on the net. Yeah I read on MSN about that shark attack. That’s so f*cking scary. Anyways YOU stat outta the water. LOL Man I hope you start feeling better real soon. Love ya man! Later....

Ben

The_Blind_Archer
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=B430834
Mon, 9 Jan 2006 12:33:38 PM GMT
YEah, she was on a church camp… As if I needed more convincing. Poor girl.

I got an unexpected windfall (bond back from Taringa) so I will give you a call sooner than I said earlier. Maybe we could get Brett down (he’s back in Aust) and go play tennis somewhere. You could also check out my place.

By the way, you are a very fluent writer. In this day and age, reading the blog of someone

The_Blind_Archer
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=B430834
Mon, 9 Jan 2006 12:34:04 PM GMT
who is more than semi-literate is a joy!


Last updated July 13, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.