Short one in Diary

  • July 7, 2015, 8:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Continuing from the last entry… When I tried to use my computer later that same day, after I got back from work, it was once again stuck in the endless restart loop. I had no choice but to take it back to Universal Computers and have them wipe the drive and reinstall windows. That much was covered under the warranty, so I decided to upgrade my power supply, which will cost me another $140. I think it will be worth it. Apparently, the graphics card I had them install is a “higher end” card, so it requires more power. Some programs can cause the computer to crash, according to them, if the power supply that is installed isn’t powerful enough. Or something like that. I don’t even know.

My brain is fried from taking call after call at work today. I have no idea why it is suddenly so busy. In any case, it’s driving me crazy. At least I can take comfort in the fact that, if nothing else, I’ll have my computer back and in working condition by tomorrow. If I have time, before I go to work I will start the Windows updating process, and then when I get back from work I can start working on downloading all the programs and games and whatnots that were on my previous hard drive. It will be a pain, but I’ll be happy to have a working system again.

I need to ask the guys at the computer store about what they recommend for a good virus program. Thanks again for the Spybot suggestion, EA, I will try that one along with maybe one or two others.

That’s all the time I have. I’ll write and read and note more later.

Bye for now.


ElvenAssassin July 08, 2015

You're welcome.

And yeah, your power supply should be 20% higher than your power consumption, as a good rule of thumb. I've had that exact same power issue from a cheap power supply...

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ July 08, 2015

Good to know. :) Aside from Spybot, what other virus/malware protection do you use?

WildflowerHeart July 10, 2015

Computers are so complicated to me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.