Where do you stand? in just testing

  • July 7, 2015, 7:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday I did exercise, after I felt up to it.

This Monday I did not. Getting into the habit of it that I actually feel guilty when I don’t.

Yesterday I used my Ulta giftcard on a new flat iron and some nail polishes and hair ties.

Then I went to Home Depot where I got some corner shelves. One for above my desk because it’s getting so cluttered you barely have elbow space and one above my bathroom caddy because Will has way more product and perfume than he’ll ever use.

My house is a continuous work in progress. I keep thinking that we’re probably gonna be here forever and I need wall shelves everywhere collect all our lifetime of stuff.

Then I had to call my father over to put up the shelves and that took a WHILE.

After that I got one of my famous head aches and just wasn’t in the mood to treadmill.

I’m supposed to go out for ice cream with Teach tomorrow. That’s awesome for my diet… anyway…

I want to ask you guys something.

I’m sure you guys have heard about the minimum wage fight. I dunno if it’s everywhere or only in NJ but they want min wage bumped up from I think $8 to $15.

Min wage workers are saying [and I believe them] they can’t support themselves and their families on $8 an hour. And be being a bleeding heart, I’m like go ahead and bump the min wage.

Will says that if min wage businesses up min wage then they’ll also have to up their prices which screws everyone else who’s wage is not going up but the price is going up. Including those who now make $15 an hour for flipping burgers but can’t afford their stuff cause the stores have to bump their prices up.

He said to me, min wage job are for young people, like teenagers, who need beginners work experience and pocket change to hang out with their friends. If they need a salary to pay rent and start a family then they need to switch jobs for more experience or get more education.

Min wage jobs are not meant to pay rents and start families.

I see his side now, I didn’t before. I still feel bad or those with families working min wage jobs. Will wants to think they’re all lazy and if they want a better job they need to get the experience or education and move up.

But I’m sure there’s some that want a better job and other things besides laziness is holding them back and I feel bad that those people are punished to struggle.

I try and put myself in their shoes, I’m very lucky, 2 working parents, living in a good area [since hs], I made it through college and graduate school, I’m healthy, i have a car and I’m doing OK.

But what if my mom never remarried and we stayed in a project in NYC? Would I have been able to go to college? Would I still have the pleasant demeanor that makes working in the public easy for me? Would I still be healthy? Would I have a car?

Life is sometimes a game of luck. And not everyone is lucky. Some people grow up with no family, in a bad area, a victim of mental disease or a physical disease. Maybe they didn’t do well in school but they tried their best.

I would just hate to be part of a movement that’s punishing those that don’t deserve it.

And how do you tell who does and who doesn’t? Many people screw the system but not all, yet most are punished.

I’m just conflicted. Both sides have their points.

I just wondered where everyone else stood on this.


Bre M July 07, 2015

Random noter. I exercise everyday. I either run, walk, treadmill, bike and then an ab workout. I actually miss it when I take a day off. I am also on both sides of the minimum wage. I am a teacher and make a good salary. But I also work the rec camps in town during the summer and make 7.50/hour. Do the bible camp for free at our church. But to me it is just some extra spending money for a mani/pedi. I don't depend on it to live on. So I think it should be raised. Say 10 dollars an hour. but 15 seems a little high to me.

Lunchbox July 07, 2015

Out here in California minimum wage is $9.00. I believe that is a fair amount to be paid for retail or fast food jobs. But in the area I live in, work is scarce. There are people with degrees fighting for those minimum wage jobs. I don't believe that it has anything to do with laziness. Lord knows working in retail is not an easy job. But sometimes making minimum wage is better than making nothing. But I really don't think it should be raised. If the price of living goes up after wages go up, then they are really just back at square one.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.