Far too long in Vulnerability

  • July 6, 2015, 6:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know the debate on Australia getting same-sex marriage is getting strong when three of the ten ‘trending’ topics on Facebook are in relation to it, or close to it.

Of course, that could just be because of the numerous ‘pages’ I’m subscribed to, but I thought whats trending is what all of us see.

The most touching one today was the little boy in the ‘Humans Of New York’ page who is afraid of his future because he knows he is gay. I think the kid is only 12 or 13! It always amazes me when some young people realize at such a young age. I know when I was 13, I had crushes on certain boys, but I wasn’t clued-on enough to make any sense of it. I was fascinated by other guys and girls were pretty much invisible to me LOL. I do remember that much.
It was sweet to see Hilary Clinton and Ellen offer their support to the boy via the page. Between those celebs and the outpour of social media support, it was really sweet to see.

Then back in Australia, we’ve got members of parliament such as Barnaby Joyce, who is our minister for agriculture. Today, he announced that, “Asian countries might see us as ‘Decadent’” and “Gay marriage will affect our live cattle exports.”

^blinks^
^blinks^

My first thought was that the men of Australia in Agricultural surroundings must be affected by all the harsh chemicals they use on their crops. Enough so that they’ve breathed in enough for it to affect their brains.
Of course, that isn’t only a stab at Barnaby, but also my father.

This was a few days after some Tasmanian wanker politician, whose name I can’t even be bothered remembering or looking up, used children as his excuse for why Australia shouldn’t legalize gay marriage. He said “Study after study shows that children benefit from having a mother and a father.”

^blinks^

Once again, the last study this guy must’ve read must’ve been from the Bible, and clearly he doesn’t know any single-parents who are toughing it out by themselves.

Do we really need to go through this shit again?

AND because assholes happen in threes, today the Presbyterian church announced that they won’t participate in sin by refusing to perform gay marriages.

Well, I don’t care about that one. I hardly think most gays I know wouldn’t want to marry their loved one in a venue as outcast towards us as the Christian faith has been.

Each time I hear a bigot, or a wanker, or an asshole, or a homophobe say something stupid, it makes me angry. Not not as much as it used to. Because it happens so much, I’ve become numb to it. Unfortunately I have to share this planet with some utterly pathetic, stupid people, and that includes people such as Tassie wanker, Barnaby wanker (I’ll call him Queensland wanker) and our Prime Minister himself, who once stated to the press that he is “Threatened by gays.”

Christ, that’s scary. The only people who are threatened by gays are homophobic people, and people are only homophobic because they aren’t totally secure with who they are. If you know who you are, you should have absolutely no reason to be ‘threatened’ by us. Sure, we might think you are hot. Say “Thanks” and take the compliment and smile and move on. We aren’t trying to ‘turn’ people like some sort of Zombie Acopolypse. That’s Jahovah’s Witness’s. Get it right.

I know I’ve joined a hell of a lot of gay activist pages over the years. I know I’ve sounded like a broken record in my diaries over the years, and I can’t even count the amount of gay-related entries I’ve written over the years. I know my friends list would probably be sick and tired of all the ‘liking’ and ‘sharing’ I’ve done on Facebook over the years, because even I know it’s been a hell of a lot.

But even so, it’s always been because of said wankers above. The minority has to have had a voice.
It’s terrifying for these bigots knowing that the minority has shifted. With predominantly Catholic countries like Ireland legalising same-sex marriage, and then the entire USA, joining countries like The Netherlands (the first to legalise it), Canada, South Africa and New Zealand, to name a few.
But I know there are still countries in the world where they kill people like me for being who they are. Iran comes to mind. Uganda gets a big thumbs down too.

I would have probably lost a lot of friends over the years because of my views on treating people who are different as no different, especially the earlier years of my life, but it’s rather heartwarming seeing people gradually form their own unique opinions on us, who really, are just normal people like everybody else, living this life just like everybody else. Paying taxes just like (almost) everyone else. I say almost, because the church sure as hell doesn’t.

I went and sat in a park today, and just thought to myself about Rosa Parks and all those before her who wanted change for the better. Basic fucking human rights. She defied both women’s and black segregation rights in her refusal to give up that bus seat back in the 50’s.

65 damn years on, I live in a first-world country, run by a bunch of fucking morons roadblocking the happiness of hundreds of thousands to millions of people like me, because no matter how much we’ve fought for equality, we’re still not seen as it.

There’s that numb feeling again. The whips that just keeps on whipping at my moral sensibility, and the wound that keeps healing. I’d love for the whip to stop, and for the wound to stay healed.

It’s comforting knowing that these ‘people’ are struggling for excuses, and that the same-sex attracted people in future generations will be able to not feel scared, or outcast or different. It makes me smile knowing that these young people of our future can hopefully date who they want and fall in love with whichever gender they feel is natural to fall in love with.

There is still a hell of a long way to go, especially worldwide. I know that. I especially feel for Transgendered and intersex people.

I’ve just wanted the world to grow up for too long now. Far too long.

http://www.mamamia.com.au/news/same-sex-marriage-opponents/


Last updated July 06, 2015


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.