Expensive expenditure in Diary

  • June 28, 2015, 4:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The computer doctor is about to get to work on my PC. My hard drive is shot, and is as good as dead, so that needs to be replaced. I’m going to hang on to the 11 viruses on the drive and find and delete them on my own time to avoid however much the doc would charge me to remove them. I feel confident I’ll have no issues cleaning them out. Also, I’m having him put in a better graphics card, so I can run GTA 5, which I bought but haven’t been able to play due to the low end card that came with my PC. Anyway, all the repairing, cloning, cleaning, and installation is going to run me up a cost of about $702. That’s not far off from what I paid for the computer when I bought it. So…mixed feelings. I hate to pay so much money on a stupid machine, although I will be happy to be able to use it, and have it back in an improved state. Apparently my hard drive died due to overheating. The tower was full of dust. This time around I’ll be sure to regularly blow it out. The doc suggested doing it every three months. I’ll clean it out once a month. I don’t need this huge expense again. First world problem? Yes. But it still sucks.

In other news, I’ve been doing the same old same old. Going to work, staying up too late (although I’ve improved on that bad habit slightly), playing video games (primarily Tetris, Dr. Mario, and Shin Megami Tensei Devil Survivor 2: Record Breaker), watching YouTube videos, and doing a bit of reading (R. A. Salvatore). It’s 2:20 pm right now, and I’ve been up for half an hour. Yep, I slept in a bit, which I needed to do. While it’s hot out, I’ll stay in and try to make some progress on that last game I mentioned, and relax, maybe watch an X Files episode or something. Once it cools off this evening, I’m going to attack a hedge that has gotten way out of hand. And, allowing for laziness, I’ll possibly do it tomorrow instead.

That’s about the gist of it. I have my mental and emotional ups and downs, like we all do, I guess, but I feel like I’m doing alright. Maybe I’m getting better? Who knows. Take care. Bye for now.


ElvenAssassin June 29, 2015

Ouch, that's a hit to the wallet :(

Spybot does a pretty good job... try that first?

You really only need to dust the tower every 6 months. ::smiles::

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ July 01, 2015

Thanks for the advice. I'm so paranoid though that it will happen again, so I'll probably dust the tower often at first, then I'll get lazy and do it only when it's necessary. I will definitely try Spybot, too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.