A powerful sense of Wanderlust. in In My World

  • May 20, 2015, 6:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to get out. I want to leave. I want to go anywhere but here....and it’s always like this.

How can I stay in this tiny town in Virginia if there’s a whole world out there? I will always want to return here…but I want to visit everywhere. How can I be okay with doing the same shit every week…wake up, go to work, deal with tantrums, do stupid shit for my boss that isn’t my job, come home, internet, go to bed. Weekends are basically sleep days for me. I hate this rut and I want to get out. I want to go anywhere…everywhere and just get this out of my system. Everyone is planning out what they’re going to be doing all summer and I’m just sitting here hating the place I’m in and desperate for a way out.

I want to go see the statue of liberty, walk the golden gate bridge, take a stereotypical picture with the leaning tower of pisa. I want to go see the worlds largest rubber band ball and see the Hayao Miyazaki museum in Tokyo. I want to see what Ireland really looks like not in pictures. I want to go see the walk of fame in Hollywood and where the walking dead takes place in Georgia. I want to go to Harry Potter World and see Disney. I want to see the crystal clear ocean. Hell, I’d even take a drive down some shitty back road in Alabama just to get lost and see what I can find, some fireflies and a clear, moon-lit sky. I wish that it were realistic to just grab a friend or two (or maybe just my boyfriend), take a car and go. Why does that have to be so hard?

I want to get lost somewhere new and learn about the place…I want to find myself.

The more I’m in this rut, the more lost I feel.

I’m hoping the build-a-bear trip on Friday will suffice for now. (I’m going to get the 4 Avengers bears and Toothless the dragon.)


Deleted user May 20, 2015

I know the feeling of feeling like you're trapped. You're young yet. You'll get to visit other places. :)

The Thirsty Oriental May 29, 2015

Yeah, Virginia is pretty boring.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.