Pets, of any and all kinds, are not JUST animals. in In My World

Revised: 05/17/2015 2:09 a.m.

  • May 14, 2015, 12:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am so beyond pissed off about the fact that people think they can just treat an animal like shit because it “has no soul.” I’m tired of people giving up the animals they adopted for not goddamned reason what so ever. I am not even officially in canine rescue yet and I am already sick of the people that I’m going to have to work with. I just want to cry and scream…They do not deserve this.

Let me go back to the two most recent events. I was arguing with my boss over whether or not it is alright to give up a dog just because you are moving or pregnant. NEWSFLASH the dog was there first! You have to know that and consider that before you move and as far as the pregnant thing goes, children should grow up knowing the love of animals anyway. I understand that in some situations it is better to give up the animal for their sake or the sake of their child, and there are good reasons for that. You can find houses/apartments/condos/etc. EVERYWHERE that allow pets (even army bases). It really isn’t that hard. You just have to look. If you agreed to adopt that animal than that animal should be with you for it’s whole life.

The second of the two events is that this Monday my boss gave up one of her dogs, Crystal, to the shelter because she “didn’t want to pay a hundred dollars to get her properly trained”. Do you know what this dog was doing? Peeing in the house because she wasn’t getting enough attention. It was spiteful. No one ever told her good girl for going outside. She really didn’t know any better. She was also growling at the baby, but that is another story entirely. Nearly ALL of this poor dogs problems are the fact that she wasn’t getting enough attention. What pissed me off the most about this? The almost 8 year old boy that I work with was CHEERING about how excited he was to be rid of her. (Really he just didn’t want to have to take her outside anymore, but I’m guessing in a couple days he’ll miss her and be fairly upset about it.) I’ve been working in this house with this dog since January. I care more about her than any of them. That really makes me sick. She gave up her dog of 3 years and felt NOTHING about it. Who does that? They all just seem so HAPPY to not have this dog anymore.
alt text
Crystal the Mount Feist dog. (Note that her ears which usually stand up straight are lowered. She is afraid and she doesn’t know why she was left in this jail.)

Maybe I’m being ridiculous, and I know this is a controversial topic, but I still don’t think that not wanting to spend money to properly train your dog isn’t a good enough reason to get rid of her.


Animals have souls.

Read that and then read it again. Animals have souls.

If you don’t believe that let me give you some examples.
1) I had 12 hamsters at one point, all with completely different personalities. BIG personalities. Buzz Lightyear liked pancakes the best, Teddy liked noodles. Marie Antoinette cage raged so hard she broke a bar. Raffie (Rafael) would eat any and everything you gave him. He lived the longest and he was also the sweetest. He had the craziest butt mustache ever. Binshie (Layah Da Vinci) was a chatterbox. Julius Caesar was the best “flattener” if you ran your hand along his body he would get the closest to the table. Just to let you see into who they were a little bit.
2)Rocky the Rottweiler Doberman would whine out “MooooOOOOoooom” in a little kid tone. If my mom said “say I love you” he would “ah-roo-roo” and it sounded just like I love you. He ALWAYS listened to me even when he wouldn’t listen to anyone else. When he got sick, on the way to the vet he plopped his head in my lap and didn’t fight the car at all. He used to become a terror in the car. He knew something was wrong and that I needed him.
3) Cloud the Border Collie bark/cries while running in circles if he is seeing me for the first time in a while. He ALWAYS greets me first. We taught him to sit in a day. Even after he’d been raised for his first 8 months in terrible conditions, he has very little behavioral issue at all.
I would type more about this but it’s getting late and my brain is fried.

Animals have souls. They ask for help. They know who to trust and who to run away from. They hold in themselves the purest form of love imaginable. How can you tell me that animals don’t have souls?

UPDATE: Crystal has been adopted! Hopefully she will have better luck in her new home. <3


Last updated May 17, 2015


The Thirsty Oriental May 14, 2015

Yeah, I've seen a few things on the news around here- someone shot a rabbit with a crossbow, and someone else shot a fox and stuffed it into the dumpster of an elementary school- still alive.

Like... seriously. Who the fuck does that???

cheesyemoheart The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ May 14, 2015

There was also the vet lady that shot a "feral" cat with an arrow and took a picture with it only to find out that it was a family pet...

synapse May 14, 2015

Aw poor Crystal. I wouldn't give up my dog for anything.

Dancing.Shadow May 19, 2015

I agree, animals do have souls. I couldn't picture giving up my dog Nikki (who I adopted in 2007 from the local humane society). She's my second baby, like my cat Friske was my first baby (who is now passed away she lived til the age of 18).

cheesyemoheart Dancing.Shadow ⋅ May 19, 2015

I completely agree! I could never give up one of my babies. I'd do anything for them

Dancing.Shadow May 19, 2015

And so glad to hear Crystal got adopted :)

cheesyemoheart Dancing.Shadow ⋅ May 19, 2015

It's pretty funny, actually. She still lives in the neighborhood! the woman that adopted her had no idea that it was my bosses dog before her!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.