Music in Him

  • May 7, 2015, 2:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Anyone in my circle knows that I have a song for every occasion just about. I love music. I love to sing. I love to listen to how the notes, synchopated beats, and rhythmic structure get together and overlay, overlap and just send me into another world.

So I was born into the 70’s and grew up on late 70’s and 80’s R&B. My music knowledge went beyond that and I’m gonna thank music videos because I was rocking Simple Minds’ “Don’t You Forget About Me” just like everyone else I was in school with. But mostly my life consisted of R&B.

As I listen to the music of today, hip hop included, none of it evokes the fun we had. When we danced, we danced hard, sweat dripped and no one cared. We made dance routines and at a party, slow dances and songs came on and we danced despite the sweaty, and possibly, funky nature of the moment.

I started making a playlist on Spotify called “Old Favorites” which consists so far of music between the 80’s and 90’s, of when I was a teen. I have had so much fun listening to these songs. Thinking about where I was in life when this was a hit. Thinking about who I was dedicating songs to or singing them to in absentia. One song I remembered, had significance because I had a boyfriend at that time and we did more talking on the phone than we saw each other, and the lyric on the phone says “…I wish that I could see you, but I’ll hold this phone instead…” and me being the senstive swooning girl I was (underneath all that tomboy I was toting), that made me susceptible into thinking I was in love every 5 minutes. Although this particular person was my first love, my first time. I will NEVER forget him.

One thing that irks me though is that I like a lot of ballads. Whether sad or love songs, I LOVE ballads. I can listen to this music and sing it all with all my heart and feel every last note and word. My peers think it’s depressing. “Why do you keep listening to all this depressing music?” Because it’s music fool! It’s not depressing to me. It’s music. It’s life for me. When I am depressed, I’m prone to getting drunk and singing. Going to karaoke and KILLING it (although this past weekend, the microphones were a bit shady and as I was doing Steve Perry’s “Foolish Heart” some justice no one could ear me because of the faulty microphone).

So that’s me today. Ptah Williams is going to do a Stevie Wonder tribute tonight. My friend Scott & I might go. It was kind of short notice and he’s just back at work from a vacation. Hope we get to go. Need to get some time in with him anyway. My buddy. :-)

And that’s all I have at this moment.
Make wonderful days ahead for yourself.

Kindest regards,
Sister


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.