Worst news in a while in 2015

  • Feb. 26, 2015, 11:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So yesterday I had Miley scheduled for a dentist apt. Shes always been super scared to go so this was a huge thing to get her in there. I’ve noticed she had a few cavities and I was freaking out about them having to be filled or extracted. Turns out, that was the least of my worries.

While we were sitting there, the dentist in Miley’s mouth, he looks over at me and asks “Has she had a high fever as a child?”

I’m like… well shes had a few fevers.

He just nodded his head and kept working on her teeth…

So I asked why… why would that matter? He says “well she has Enamel Hypoplasia, all her enamel is damaged on the adult teeth coming in, and that is caused by a high fever or a bad illness or trauma to the mouth as a child under 3”…

All I could think about is the day when Miley was 16 months old and she had roseola and a fever of 108 that made her have a seizure. She wound up in the hospital and unconscious for a while because of it. I told him about that and he said that was most likely the case here. As a child that young, you might not have all your baby teeth developed yet, but you do have your adult teeth buds and they are susceptible to that kind of stuff, apparently. My heart just sank.

My kids teeth are fucked right up from that day. That day changed my life forever as I’m always terrified now… and now she has the worst teeth ever because of it. Shes going to need caps, crowns, implants on most of her front adult teeth. The 10,000$ I have saved up for her, its going to have to go right into her mouth, since my insurance doesn’t cover all of this.

I felt sick, soooo sick and so helpless for her.

I feel ok now though, looking back on that awful day, I realize that it could have been so much worse. If my brother in law wasn’t there to give her CPR, she would have died that day. If this is the worst that comes of that day, I am most certainly ok with that, and we will deal with her teeth as they come in.

But what a shitty straw to be dealt as a 6 year old.

Good news is that the cavities will be filled soon, and her current teeth look good. Little plaque and overall good mouth health. :)


I had an eye apt yesterday too, my right eye is crap but my left is perfect lol

Kristen <3


Hotaru February 26, 2015

I'm so sorry. It sucks that she will have to deal with that. Although as you said it could have been much worse. And maybe by the time it starts to really become an issue for her they will have made some advances and have better ways of treating her teeth to help preserve them better.

goddess February 26, 2015

Oh, that sucks. :( 108 fever...that must have been completely terrifying. I would think as a mom you never fully recover from being that scared for your kid.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon goddess ⋅ February 26, 2015

You really don't. And it shapes your entire life after that. I was scared of everything, I turned into a germaphobe, I had (still) OCD, I had anxiety and panic attacks... I was so scared that she would get sick. I was scared for her to get a fever and have to go through it again. Its taken a long time to even partially get over. And I'm not over it, but I can totally handle sickness now since shes been sick like a thousand times since which helps me get over it more and more each time. Holding my daughter in the back of an ambulance unconscious and convulsing and not making any sense and being incoherent when she woke up, was the single most terrifyingly awful thing I've ever and likely will ever experience. I wouldn't wish that on my worst enemy :(

Girl on the Run February 26, 2015

I am missing enamel on my teeth, it's a genetic issue for me. Honestly, it never affected me growing up! My teeth weren't noticeably discolored, if you look closely at them you can see they're bumpy instead of smooth (that's from the missing enamel) but nothing near bad enough that it messed with my self-esteem. I never had caps or anything!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Girl on the Run ⋅ February 26, 2015

She has severe discolouration and deep pitting :( Hopefully its just these ones and the rest are fine though!

Girl on the Run Mrs.Kristen.Canon ⋅ February 26, 2015

With mine, it's only obvious on my two front top teeth. Hopefully it's the same for her!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Girl on the Run ⋅ February 26, 2015

Hopefully. In her case its the bottom so that is even less noticeable. Thanks for your notes, it helps me think of the positive sides, its not all that bad! :)

Lacrime di Drago February 26, 2015

JustSurviveSomehow February 26, 2015

That is so sad :(. Who would have thought a bad fever could cause that kind of future damage? I never remembering reading about that incident before, but I do remember how terrified you used to be of them getting sick. It all makes sense now.
My father had his teeth knocked out as a teenager, and he actually received implants when he was about 18 - he just now needs them replaced again, and he is in his 50's. The implants just started decaying. I didn't even know that he even had implants until a few weeks ago, so they look identical to real teeth. That could always be something to look into too, if it would get to that point.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ February 26, 2015

Wow that is pretty awesome... hmm so implants aren't even that bad.

And yeah, thats why I was so insane about them catching anything. Totally over that, but I do still think about that day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.