DUFF in Torridaussity Two

  • Feb. 23, 2015, 6:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For those of you not up on the current movies this stands for designated ugly fat friend…I have always been aware of my weight and that I was never ever really thin or even thick, but always overweight. I suffer from hashimoto’s disease which is an auto immune disorder that attacks your thyroid, I also have pcos which is another factor in my weight problems, but although I always knew I was overweight, I never felt that I was different from my friends even though I wasn’t as thin. Then in college I went with friends to see a comedian and although he didn’t use the term DUFF, he did say all groups of girls have that one ugly fat friend in their group to always make sure they look better than at least one person. I will never forget the tears in my eyes when I heard this and thought oh my God that’s me. My friends have always been so pretty and so much cooler than me and when I heard this as sick as it is to believe something so cruel I believed it about myself and have carried that thought in my head all these years. I keep it buried for the most part, but this new movie brought those memories back. I will say my friends are genuine and don’t keep me around because I am ugly or fat, but I always have felt so inferior to them. I have come a long way since then and work daily to fight away those negative thoughts, but lately with all the other stress and negativity I am just loosing my grip on all things in my life. I am losing it people I am crying everyday over something and I just want to run away. The only good thing is that I talked to my one supervisor and he said if anything if the mom complains about my phone over use then our case manager will remind me not to do that and that’ll be the end of it.


Deleted user February 23, 2015

I think your amazing. Just keep your head up. You've always been so nice to me. Feel better soon,.

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ February 23, 2015

thank you

Deleted user Always Laughing ⋅ February 23, 2015

Anytime

Cricket Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2015

Agreed!! You're awesome!! (:

Deleted user Cricket ⋅ February 26, 2015

Awwww!!!!!

Always Laughing Cricket ⋅ February 26, 2015

thanks :-) I have some really awesome friends on here too :-)

Deleted user Always Laughing ⋅ February 26, 2015

Always!!m

WomanOfSteele February 23, 2015

I heard there was a movie about this and I hate that fact. It's such a nasty thing. I'm glad I don't know (or at least I don't associate with) any people who would keep a friend around solely for the purpose of making themselves look better. How grotesque!

Always Laughing WomanOfSteele ⋅ February 23, 2015

It's the new mean girls movie as they say and the funny thing is the girl is not ugly or fat just dresses poorly and is a dork. In the end she ends up beautiful of course.

WomanOfSteele Always Laughing ⋅ February 24, 2015

But of course! lol .... Hollywood...

Deleted user February 24, 2015

I am shocked at what that "comedian" said...cant believe he would tell jokes that hurt people thats just not funny....Elizabeth

Deleted user February 24, 2015

I realize that they need to make really stupid movies to cater to teens, but this pisses me off. I know it's the norm to cast 20 somethings in teen roles, but this is ridiculous. All of the actors look like they are 25 or older. The main girl was in parenthood for cripes sake, playing an adult in her earlier 20s. What a load of garbage.

I get it though. It really irritates me when stuff like this is made because there is always a lot of people that it will hurt. And changing one's wardrobe and putting on a little make up, won't fix everything, like they seem to think it will in the movie. It's offensive really.

I'm sorry you are going through such a hard time. It's not easy, there is a lot of stuff to overcome when we aren't altogether happy with ourselves. Hope you can find a way to love you for you. We don't need to put labels on ourselves or even identify with labels that society hands to us, because in the end, we are who we are. We can't change that, but we can accept it and love ourselves because of it. Sending you big hugs.

Always Laughing Deleted user ⋅ February 24, 2015

Thanks for the hugs, I feel better today after purging in my last two entries.

Small Town Girl April 24, 2015

(Saw you on a friends page.) How awful! I cant even imagine how painful that moment at the comedy club must have been! How could a person not take something like that to heart? I know I would have! And I 100% agree with Mieletea's comment!

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ April 24, 2015

thanks most days I don't even think about it, but when I am feeling down it pops in there.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.